[News] Aton Five published the live video for the track “Danse Macabre” taken from their new album

Russian Instrumental Post-Progressive Rock band Aton Five published the live video for the track “Danse Macabre” taken from their new self-titled album out on April 28, 2023. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

In the times of working on “Solarstalgia” a peculiar bass riff was born during a break. We added a counterpoint guitar theme to it and thought that it would make a great interlude track on the album. However, the “interlude” spiraled out of our control and started to rapidly turn into a large suite called “Lethe,” which became a cornerstone and the lengthiest track of our second album. It was “Lethe” which set the tone and direction of our new music, prioritizing scope of composition and exploration of classical musical form.

Making the album was difficult. Most of the ideas were discarded as unworthy or disharmonious to other ideas, excruciating perfectionism made us return to arrangements that were already recorded. Line-up was changing due to various circumstances and the band was on the verge of breaking up multiple times.

Working against such internal and external difficulties emphasized the Romantic mood of the album, which also resonated with a John Keats poem called “Ode on Melancholy.” A reading of it can be heard during the already mentioned “Lethe.” In fact, the LP could be called just that — “Ode on Melancholy.” But we decided that the most important thing about this release is our band acquiring its genuine identity. Therefore, it is simply called “Aton Five.”

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://atonfive.bandcamp.com/album/aton-five


01. Alienation 08:32
02. Naked Void 08:32
03. Clepsydra 03:23
04. Danse Macabre 08:00
05. Lethe 22:01


Anton Ablov / Organ, Synth, Piano
Roman Makushev / Drums
Alexander Seleznev / Guitars, Additional Keyboards, Production, Voice on Track 5
Mikhail Zenkov / Bass, Production

Matthew Borun / Track 4 only: Organ and Piano Solos, Strings Arrangement

Aton Five |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *