[News] Gecko&Tokage Parade published the official video for the track “Vortex” from new album

Japanese Instrumental Jazz-Rock band Gecko&Tokage Parade published the official video for the track “Vortex” recorded live at Studio Tokage Session and taken from new album “Heart of Tokage” out on March 22, 2023 via Playwright. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Gecko&Tokage Parade, an outsider Instrumental Jazz band that goes back and forth between traditional and future-oriented, with Experimental production that breaks the boundaries of music genres such as Jazz, Ambient, Post-Rock, Shoegaze, and Hip-Hop, advocating “pursuing the sound of the new generation.”

With outstanding live performances, they have successfully performed solo live performances in halls such as Motion Blue yokohama and COTTON CLUB, and have also appeared in domestic and international Jazz festivals such as Nakasu Jazz 2022, Borneo Jazz Festival (Malaysia). They are new-generation Japanese Jazz scene must-see newcomers.

The latest work “Heart of Tokage,” which has been over a year since the previous work “Next Border” (PWT95). This 10-track album includes; the straight aggressive number #3. “Run&Gun” with a beautiful melody rushing like a torrent, and the anthem #6. “Vortex,” the sharp guitar riffs and the ensemble of the instrumental band that ticks off the odd time signature will make you feel exhilarated. And an electro mid-dance number #2. “Fiction” makes you dance with smoky urban sounds and cool grooves, and the ambitious work #8. “Tell me a bedtime story” which is Jazz standards composed by Herbie Hancock, with modern and ambient interpretation added by them.

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://playwright.bandcamp.com/album/heart-of-tokage


  1. Ace (3:13)
  2. Fiction (3:42)
  3. Run&Gun (3:00)
  4. Pray For Rain (4:52)
  5. Wetland (5:36)
  6. Vortex (4:22)
  7. Highway (2:53)
  8. Tell Me A Bedtime Story (6:16)
  9. Journey (5:13)
  10. Heart (5:09)


Wataru Sato / Piano, Synth
Keitaro Kurosawa / Guitars
Takuya Nakayama / Bass
Subaru Anayama / Drums

Gecko&Tokage Parade |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Playwright |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *