[News] Gong Wah release a Groovy Psychedelic single “I Hate You”

In the beginning of 2018 singer Inga Nelke alongside two guitarists Thorsten Dohle & Felix Will meet at a dark cave in Cologne Germany. Impressed by the caves reverb, accompanied by a drum machine, they rather accidentally create a sound that sits somewhere between Shoegaze, Psychedelic and Krautrock, while breathing the DIY spirit of a Punk New Wave era.

They turn on, tune in and drop out. Starting to write songs, rehearsing every minute of spare time, call themselves Gong Wah – their sound Fuzzwave.

By now the rare performances of the first incarnation of Gong Wah, held among others in Cologne’s art scene, highlighting Ingas spherical voice and the screaming yet rambling guitars of Thorsten & Felix, all drenched in a sea of effects while drums and bass are played off a battered 80s tape-deck drilling peoples ear holes to the ground, eagerly wanting more and more.

During a performance at the end of 2018 the machine entered a pact with Satan, went down south and ate the tape with all the backing tracks. Fortunately bass player Giso Simon and drumming multi- instrumentalist Nima Davari were in attendance of said gig. One lead to another – boom –Gong Wah became a five piece.

With the new line-up Gong Wah starts recording their debut in the summer of 2019 at the bands recording studio, finishing the record in a few months, meanwhile playing shows, producing and releasing music videos to “I Hate You” and “Sugar & Lies” as well as a limited edition of hand made slime green cassette-tape with the songs “Let’s Get Lost and With Him” which sold out immediately.

November 13, 2020 brings about Gong Wah‘s debut record release. The limited white vinyl and CD’s will shine via Tonzonen Records. The band have also released a video for the track “I Hate You,” watch it in the YouTube player below:

1. Let’s Get Lost
2. I Hate You
3. Supersized Kid
4. With Him
5. Sugar & Lies
6. Contaminated
7. Not This Time
8. Just Sayin’

Gong Wah |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Tonzonen Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply