[News] Imaginary Kings unveil the official music video for the track “Starlit Black” taken from new album

US Instrumental Progressive Rock project Imaginary Kings has unveiled the official music video for the track “Starlit Black” taken from new album “Safer in Chains” out on August 14, 2023. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

The album came together in the months following the release of “Monsters Lament,” with a mixture of existing and newly-written pieces.

The two of us live over 3,500 miles apart, but came together through the medium of the online collaboration site Kompoz.com, in the days before COVID made online collaboration an everyday necessity for many musicians.

The album title comes from Franz Kafka‘s quote: “It is often safer to be in chains than to be free.”

Franz is the one human being on the cover, all the others were generated by AI, maybe in the not too distant future those chains will feel a lot safer still.

The title track is a reworking of an earlier individual track “Dear Jupiter,” this time as an instrumental.. other tracks have been worked on since lockdowns came and went, and the most recently recorded track, “Checkmate” was started and finished within 24 hours this July.

1:33 am is the default time that my old digital analog alarm clock resets to when power is cut.. If there is an afterlife, I am hoping that it starts again at 1:33.

Thanks to everyone involved in helping get this off the ground but especially the musicians at Kompoz.com” – Peter & Nick

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://imaginarykings.bandcamp.com/album/safer-in-chains


  1. Safer In Chains (5:36)
  2. Starlit Black (5:38)
  3. 1 : 33 (3:33)
  4. Malice (5:17)
  5. Wake Word (3:27)
  6. Time Lines (4:50)
  7. Personal Column (4:44)
  8. Worms Eye View (4:17)
  9. That Big Winter (3:21)
  10. Self Harm (3:30)
  11. Checkmate (6:21)
  12. One For The Road (4:19)


Peter Rand / Keyboards, Guitars, Bass (11)
Nick DeNardo / Drums, Engineering
Jim Bryan
(1, 3, and 12), Steve Johnson (2), Philippe Pansard (4), Chris Branch (6), Chad B (9), Santtu the Sane (8) / Bass
Francois Vingrief (1), Whitman Rinaldo (1), Ralph Tonge (6), John Schilling (10) / Lead Guitars

Imaginary Kings |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *