[News] Iron Jinn (feat. members of The Devil’s Blood, Death Alley & more!) reveal new single “Lick It Or Kick It”

This Spring will see Amsterdam-based Psych Rock’n’Rollers Iron Jinn release their much-awaited, self-titled first full-length album through Stickman Records. Years after debuting at Roadburn 2018, Iron Jinn, featuring members of The Devil’s BloodDeath AlleyShaking Godspeed and Birth Of Joy, comes full circlewith a release party at Roadburn 2023!

Iron Jinn will be released on April 21, 2023 coinciding with the band’s appearance at the festival. A limited Roadburn edition of the vinyl will be available exclusively there and via the Stickman Records webshop.

Following previously-released album tracks – the woozy rock’n’roll track Soft Healers – as well as Winding WorldIron Jinn have just premiered a brand new singlentitled”Lick It Or Kick It.”

Guitarist/singer Wout Kemkens comments: “‘Lick It Or Kick It’ deals with the somewhat sadomasochistic and erotic qualities of coercive – what some might call ‘strong’ – leadership and repression. The song is a dystopian cocktail of fear, power and desire on the edge of reality, fantasy and dream, but induced by real life events.”

The new Iron Jinn single is now available here: https://bfan.link/lick-it-or-kick-it

Iron Jinn are Oeds Beydals (The Devil’s Blood/Molassess/Death Alley), Wout Kemkens (Shaking Godspeed/De Niemanders), Bob Hogenelst (Birth of Joy/Molassess) and Gerben Bielderman (Pauw) and upcoming debut full length is a frantic album that follows the logic of a dream; none.

The nine songs on the album are the result of a chaotic accumulation of modern world impressions, information and conversations that are forcefully pushed through a human funnel: the minds of Oeds Beydals and Wout Kemkens. The album took shape against the background noise of shifting paradigms, universal cramps, massages of the primal brain, plays full of mad lines, and it hesitantly kisses the underbelly that got fed oh so well. The band and the music itself sounds downright exciting. The voices of Wout and Oeds reverberate passionately over mesmerizing grooves and pure melodies and harmonies, a rare combination in contemporary (Rock) music.

Iron Jinn is an album on the edge of reality, fantasy and dream, but induced by real life events. The writing process started amidst the cultural prohibition in may 2020, so the music and lyrical themes are certainly influenced by the hypnosis type state of this moment in time. How the collective consciousness got taken over by one story. How opinions and paradigms can quickly be influenced and formed. How lack of meaningful social interactions, feelings of fear and a hunger for one big solution to a problem really can drive people into isolation or cultlike devotion (or both). All this surfaced more than ever the last years and as songwriting scavengers Oeds Beydals and Wout Kemkens took it all in and used it to create a piece of art that hopefully mirrors, but also celebrates the human spirit. The album embodies the uprising of a new star and creates a much needed dot on the horizon for both the creators and listeners.

Iron Jinn was recorded in the spring of 2021, with producer/mixer Sebastiaan van Bijlevelt at Galloway Recording Studio in Nijmegen, NL.


  1. Winding World
  2. Soft Healers
  3. Ego Loka
  4. Truth Is Your Dagger
  5. Lick It Or Kick It
  6. Relic
  7. Bread And Games
  8. Blood Moon Horizon
  9. Cage Rage

In support of their upcoming debut record release, the band has announced a slew of live dates, as well as an upcoming tour with Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age, Them Crooked Vultures). Not only will Iron Jinn be directly supporting Johannes on the tour, but also playing in his live band. Make sure to catch them live at the following dates:

Iron Jinn |Facebook Page|Instagram|

Stickman Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *