[News] King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard unleashes “Gila Monster” in wild new video

Gila Monster,” the first taste of new music from King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard‘s upcoming album “PetroDragonic Apocalypse or Dawn of Eternal Night: An Annihilation of Planet Earth and the Beginning of Merciless Damnation,” is indeed as wild and headbanger-friendly as its name suggests.

In the SPOD-directed video for the song, which was debuted on stage during Gizzard’s spring European tour well before the new album announcement, hood-clad group members inhabit a fantasy world of snow-covered forests and a candlelit inner sanctum complete with a bubbling cauldron. The proverbial Gila is alternately praised and feared as a “Biblical beast of ancient lore” who “grows more” with each meal, leaving a “cloud of dread” and a “cold hand of death” in its wake.

Halfway through, frontman Stu Mackenzie finds himself being chased on horseback by two demonic wolves, only to transform into bandmate Joey Walker soloing wildly on a Holy Explorer guitar at the top of a mountain amid a lightning storm (fun fact: this guitar was crushed in an elevator last June during load-in for a concert in Barcelona and has only recently been meticulously repaired).

Watch the official video through the YouTube player below:

Pre-Order the album on Bandcamp: https://kinggizzard.bandcamp.com/album/petrodragonic-apocalypse-or-dawn-of-eternal-night-an-annihilation-of-planet-earth-and-the-beginning-of-merciless-damnation

01. Motor Spirit
02. Supercell
03. Converge
04. Witchcraft
05. Gila Monster 04:35
06. Dragon
07. Flamethrower


Stu Mackenzie / Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Recording, Mixing, Lyrics and Synthesiser
Ambrose Kenny-Smith / Vocals, Lyrics and Synthesiser
Joey Walker / Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Recording, Mixing, Lyrics and Synthesiser
Michael Cavanagh / Drums, Percussion, Vocals and Electronic Drum Kit
Cook Craig / Bass, Vocals, Lyrics and Synthesiser
Lucas Harwood / Lyrics and Synthesiser

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *