[News] Tar Pond to reissue 2 albums “Petrol” and “Protocol of Constant Sadness” on September 2023

Tar Pond to reissue 2 albums “Petrol” and “Protocol of Constant Sadness” on September 2023.

Tar PondProtocol of Constant Sadness

Tar Pond started with the pre-production of their first album “Protocol Of Constant Sadness” in spring 2017 before finally entering the studio in August that same year. The choice to work with former member and Coroner pal Tommy Vetterli as co-producer in his own studio (NewSoundStudio) could not have been better. Everybody was more than satisfied with the results. Just when the band had started to look around for the right label fate struck like a hammer. Martin Ain, close friend and bassist, suffered a stroke/heart attack and died on october 21st 2017. No words can explain how big the loss was and still is for his family, friends and the band. At this point Tar Pond was close to falling apart, but they decided to proceed and stick to the plan of releasing the songs. This is when Monika Schori, former bassist of Kuppers earlier band Demolition Blues, took part in a few sessions which resulted in her remaining with the band. “Protocol Of Constant Sadness” was eventually self-released by the band in 2020.

Pre-Order the album here: https://en.spkr.media/en/Artists/Tar-Pond/Tar-Pond-Protocol-of-Constant-Sadness.html


  1. Damn
  2. Please
  3. Worm
  4. The Spirit

Tar Pond – Petrol

Petrol“, the second full length of Swiss doom visionaries Tar Pond is clearly drawing inspiration from US Doom classics such as Saint Vitus as way as going all the way back to the British roots embodied by Black Sabbath. There are also moments that connect Tar Pond with contemporary doom acts such as Electric Wizard and Acid Bath. At the same time, Tar Pond also exemplify the stubborn streak of Swiss Metal that displays a fierce individuality and creative independence as outstanding acts such as Celtic Frost, Coroner, and Zeal & Ardor easily attest. Going back to the crossroads of time, everything seemed to change when Martin Ain, bass player of the iconic Celtic Frost and one of the founding members of Tar Pond passed away in October 2017. Before this tragic day, the Swiss legend had already recorded the debut album together with the other founding members, the former Coroner drummer and lyricist Marky Edelmann, and the renowned scratchboard artist and vocalist Thomas Ott. After a long time of intense deliberation, Tar Pond decided to continue as a band and to release the debut under the title “Protocol of Constant Sadness”. This album was originally written and recorded in 2016/17 under the guidance of producer and guitar-legend Tommy Vetterli of Coroner fame. Inspired by the enthusiastic reception of “Protocol of Constant Sadness,” Tar Pond again joined forces with Tommy Vetterli at the New Sound Studio to record “Petrol“. Due to changes in the line-up, “Petrol” is a collaboration of old and new band members throughout different times. Despite these circumstances, the second album appears to be coherent and focused on Tar Pond‘s declared aim to deliver a soundtrack of brutality and an electric protocol of constant sadness. And while the Swiss filed their debut under the description ‘Doom’n’Gloom‘, their sound has also been described as a combination of doom and post-metal. With “Petrol“, Tar Pond fulfil their original promise: this album is a beautiful soundtrack of darkness and sorrow.

Pre-Order the album here: https://en.spkr.media/en/Artists/Tar-Pond/Tar-Pond-PETROL.html


  1. Bomb
  2. Blind
  3. Slave
  4. Something
  5. Dirt

Tar Pond |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *