[Review] Great Wide Nothing – The View From Olympus

Great Wide Nothing is an American Neo Prog from Atlanta, formed by Daniel Graham (Guitars, Bass and Vocal), Dylan Porper (Keyboards) and Jeff Matthews (Drums). On April 5, 2019 the band released their self-released debut album “The View From Olympus,” available in CD and Digital. The album consists of 4 tracks, with marked influences from the 1970s Prog, including a suite of over 17 minutes. Start with “Lethal Neon” of 9:27 minutes, divided into 3 parts, “A Sinister Glow” is the first and is characterized by the organ and piano and a good vowel. The song increases in intensity on “No Answer“, the second part is always guided by keyboards with piano and synth that are interchanged on solos, supported by good bass lines. “The Spider Web“, takes up the initial theme and re-enters the voice, the rhythm is calmer and leaves room for a guitar solo, the piece ends with the piano. A good initial suite, which immediately highlights the intentions of the band. “Monument“, which is also divided into two parts, the first “Hostages” part with a beautiful 70s-style organ, also enters a solid vocal. The track opens and the intensity increases, drums and bass create powerful bases and the organ drives the sound. With the beginning of “The Fill Six Under,” the second part begins, a great detach Heavy Prog leads us to the instrumental part of the suite, with the organ that draws an excellent solo, with the Synth that intersects at times. “Evening” is the shortest track on the album, and is an intermezzo with acoustic guitar and voice, soft and with a committed text. So we come to “The View From The Olympus“, a suite of 17:24, divided into 4 parts. “Prelude” is the first, it starts with synth, bass and drum that create a short intro, before a keyboard arpeggio that starts the other instruments. Markedly Prog and aggressive, with a sudden change of time it catapults us into “Midnight Sun“, the second part that begins with flute, acoustic guitar and voice, which increases the intensity after entering the instruments. The structure is remarkable, the vocal precise and the time changes well managed, alternating more symphonic moments with more aggressive ones with keyboards that create an excellent musical carpet. The third part “Gift Of Time” changes the theme, with guitar and organ in great evidence, the vowel also returns, but the main feature is the majestic openings with mellotron and organ. Bass draws elaborate lines and between time changes, sung moments and sumptuous instrumental intervals we come to “Out Of The Flood“. Opens with a change of theme on the keyboards, with the entry of the instruments a remarkable instrumental space and an organ always at the center of the project. Synth and voice also enter and the song goes towards the end with an excellent choral part with all the main instruments. The band offers a Neo Prog sound, with marked 70s components and keyboards protagonists and at the center of the scene. The organ, synth and mellotron phrases are noteworthy. Even the vowel occupies an important space and at times it lacks a bit of personality, although it offers a good proof. All in all a great record, thinking besides that it is their first album an excellent job has been done. A band to follow in the future, with a beginning at these levels, there are great growth prospects.


1. Lethal Neon (9:27) :
– I. A Sinister Glow
– II. No Answers
– III. The Spider’s Web
2. Monument (8:23) :
– I. Hostages
– II. The Full Six Under
3. Evening (2:47)
4. The View From Olympus (17:24):
– I. Prelude
– II. Midnight Sun
– III. The Gift of Time
– IV. Out of the Flood


Daniel Graham / Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Vocals, Composer
Dylan Porper / Keyboards
Jeff Matthews / Drums

Great Wide Nothing |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *