[Review] Kallon – Moment

Kallon are a Danish band that presents a mix of Heavy Rock and Metal with Post- and Prog sounds. The debut album “Moment” was released on August 20, 2023 and contains seven tracks. Opener “Divisions” immediately immerses us in the band’s sound, with good guitar twists and a solid rhythm section. The vocals are dynamic and include aggressive choral refrains. The band skilfully blends Prog and Post-Metal sounds with forays into Sludge, between melodic passages and more aggressive openings. The album’s shorter track “Singularity” shows the harder side of the band’s sound. The tempo changes are an added bonus for the rhythm section, which is more pulled and accelerated. The vocal parts add power to the sound, which is centred on gritty riffs and more technical guitar twists. A concentration of power and energy, interspersed with more elaborate passages and forays into the most extreme Prog Metal. “The Weight of the Universe” returns with a longer running time, exceeding 8:50 minutes. An intro with guitar arpeggios and softer drumming opens the track, creating a more atmospheric Post-Rock sound. The vocals are deep and expressive, increasing in intensity as the track, as the minutes pass, in a constant crescendo and intertwining of sounds. In the middle section, the band takes the sound into heavier territory with hard guitar riffs and a solid, elaborate rhythm section. The vocals also become more aggressive and the song incorporates elements of Sludge and Metal. In the second part, a prolonged instrumental section offers good guitar cues and a softer sound that guide us to the end. Excellent guitar riffs open “Ode to a Satellite,” energetic and engaging and enriched by tempo changes. The vocal parts weave male vocals and female choirs into the background, while the more energetic parts alternate with openings with engaging melodies. The band manages to concentrate all its facets and musical influences in 4:26 minutes, moving from Post-Rock moments to aggressive, Sludge passages. A Post-Rock-sounding intro characterises “The Gale,” an ever-evolving track. With the intensity increasing as the minutes go by, deep, load-bearing bass lines, we arrive at a change in the middle section that takes the sound towards Sludge-soaked metal with aggressive vocals. Continuing to alternate instrumental and vocal parts, mixing genres between Prog and Post-Rock and Sludge, the song flows engaging and energetic, enhancing the band’s granitic sound. “Migration” is characterised by a soft first part with dreamy atmospheres, before evolving into a powerful and at times aggressive Post-Metal. The middle part offers an instrumental section with excellent riffs and guitar work, proposing a dirty, scratchy Heavy Rock to which an extreme vocal inserts itself, giving power to the song and moving the sound into more Metal territory. As the central theme continues to evolve, the track ends in a powerful and engaging crescendo. The album ends with the longest track on the album, “A Search that never ends,” which is over nine minutes long. Pachydermic guitar riffs and a monolithic rhythm section, enriched by deep, load-bearing bass lines and tempo changes characterise the sound. Interesting is the mixture of different genres, moving from more Rock moments to Metal openings, with the band’s personal style and quality as the common thread. Even the vocal parts alternate softer verses and more aggressive rhythms. During the long duration of the song, the band explores the nuances that make up their sound, with fine instrumental passages and an interesting guitar solo in the finale. A good debut album for this band, adept at mixing Prog and Post-Rock sounds with the more energetic and aggressive Post-Metal Sludge. Hard guitar riffs and energetic rhythm sections alternate with softer, more technical passages, enhancing the band’s ideas. A recommended listen for lovers of the heavier sounds of Post-Rock and Metal, with forays into Sludge, a good album with an intense tracklist from start to finish.


01. Divisions (05:57)
02. Singularity (03:50)
03. The Weight of the Universe (08:53)
04. Ode to a Satellite (04:26)
05. The Gale (06:12)
06. Migration (06:08)
07. A Search that never ends (09:15)


John Ireland / Drums, Vocals
Matthew Pither / Bass Guitar, Vocals
Diego Caviedes / Guitar, Backing Vocals
Tobias Hollweck / Guitar, Backing Vocals

With the collaboration of:
Alejandra García
 / Backing Vocals

Kallon |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[Review] Kallon – Moment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *