[Review] Mourning Knight – A World of Dreams

Mourning Knight are an American band from the New York area that plays Progressive Rock and formed in the mid-1990s. Their style is influenced by the classic sounds of the genre, presented through epic tracks that often exceed 10 minutes in length. The new album “A World of Dreams” was released on July 07, 2023 and contains five long tracks. Dreamy piano atmospheres open “A Fractured Fairytale” characterised by an introductory part in which some fine guitar work also inserts itself. With the entry of the drumming and the evolution of the song with solo guitar and keyboard inserts, the band’s prog imprinting immediately comes to the fore. The rhythm section is complemented by deep, load-bearing bass lines, which give body to the sound, and enriched by continuous tempo changes. The male vocals are warm and interpret the solo parts well, intertwining with the female vocals in the choral refrains. The mellotron creates a pleasant orchestral background and adds a symphonic touch to the track. The track alternates vocal and instrumental parts with some interesting passages, especially in the solo inserts and guitar and keyboard interlacing. keyboards take centre stage in the melodies of “The Great Escape,” a track that alternates rhythmic passages with symphonic openings. Of note is a fine synth solo in the first part of the track, which then gives way to the guitar. The mellotron creates an orchestral background throughout the track. Another good passage at the beginning of the second part with another fine duet between synth and guitar, enriched by tempo changes. “Return to Earth” is a long track, exceeding 10 minutes, with a softer, more dilated sound. In the first part the female voice and in the second male voice are, in my humble opinion, not very incisive. The sound remains softer than in the previous tracks, for a track whose musical concept could have been developed with a shorter duration, sometimes less is more, would have been more enjoyable. A good organ intro and gritty guitar riffs open “Duel in the Sun,” a track with a retro feel. There is a good instrumental section in the first part with a fine guitar solo insert. Alternating more melodic sung parts with choral refrains and more heavy prog openings, the track flows nicely. An incisive passage that is enriched with very pleasant instrumental parts, this track would have been better developed in length compared to the previous one. The listening ends with another epic over 14 minutes long, “The Harlequin’s Carnival.” A dreamy intro of keyboards and piano slowly immerses us in the sounds of the song, a succession of tempo changes and vocal parts among the most incisive on the record. A good conclusion, full of tempo changes, instrumental passages with keyboards as protagonists, in my opinion this track is the best on the album. The band offers a tracklist that in sections shows intense and engaging passages, in others a little less so. Overall, the album is smooth, with the two concluding tracks being the best in my opinion. A blend of 70s-style symphonic progressive rock with a personal touch from the band. The long tracks do not always express the band’s real potential, which with a few tricks certainly has all the potential to offer a good quality sound.


01. A Fractured Fairytale (16:57)
02. The Great Escape (08:43)
03. Return to Earth (10:30)
04. Duel in the Sun (06:42)
05. The Harlequin’s Carnival (14:07)


Norm Dodge / Electric & Bass Guitars
Nancy Scorcia / Acoustic Guitar & Backing Vocals
Jason Brower / Drums, Vocals, Piano, Organs, Mellotron & Synths
Roo Brower / Backing Vocals

Mourning Knight |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

2 thoughts on “[Review] Mourning Knight – A World of Dreams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *