[Review] The Id – Disaster Movie

The Id is a Progressive Rock band active since 2014 and with 7 releases to its credit. The new album entitled “Disaster Movie” was released on August 04, 2023 and contains 9 medium-length tracks. The journey begins with “Prelude in Dm / Overture / The Voyage,” a three-part track that immediately immerses us in the band’s sounds. Keyboards take centre stage, creating a pompous and triumphant sound. In the second part, the song is developed with arpeggios, percussion and a warm, expressive vocal, creating a Folk-tinged atmosphere. The following “The Storm” is a short 1-minute passage with a percussive rhythm that takes us towards “Aftermath.” It is the longest track on the album, exceeding 9 minutes in length and opens with gentle guitar arpeggios and an orchestral keyboard background. The vocals are soft, but overall the track is unimpressive in my humble opinion. I would have expected a greater development of the instrumental sections, taking more advantage of the track’s long duration. “Tailspin” continues the musical discourse of the previous one, with some interesting keyboard and chitrarra interlacing. In the second part, a good guitar solo insert takes the stage in the instrumental section, and then the vocal returns, taking us to the finale without any particular changes or interventions. We come to a more melodic and soft-sounding track, “I Never Wanted To.” The sounds are dilated and the track reminds me of soundtrack music, a far cry from the expected Prog. Piano and effects in the background open “The Spectre (A Message),” over which the vocals come in. The drumming enters, whose sound seems electrified and not very incisive. In a continuous musical crescendo, the track flows, more in the form of a ‘song‘ than of prog tracks. The organ opens “Human,” one of the most Progressive-influenced tracks. Some of the passages are interesting, but except for a few organ melodies and electric guitar inserts, I find it lacking in punch. In the finale, the intensity increases and we find perhaps the best moment of the track. Guitar riffs and electronic-sounding drumming open “Deliverance.” The vocals give a melodic touch to the song, developed around the synth inserts in the second part and the repeated guitar riffs that accompany us throughout the song, which in my opinion are sometimes a little intrusive. The disc ends with “Homecoming,” a two-minute track with percussion and pompous keyboard sounds. An enjoyable outro. I would have expected an album of modern Progressive Rock, with tempo changes, instrumental sections and more elaborate passages. Instead, the album in my opinion consists of not too incisive tracks, where the vocal parts leave little room for the music, with few solo inserts despite the long duration of the tracks. This verdict is my modest opinion, as I did not find those characteristics that distinguish Progressive albums. The instrumentation is there and should be exploited more to create more dynamic songs and passages, with tempo changes and phrasing that is a little more elaborate.


01. Prelude in Dm / Overture / The Voyage (7:34)
02. The Storm (1:07)
03. Aftermath (9:16)
04. Tailspin (6:58)
05. I Never Wanted To (7:02)
06. The Spectre (A Message) (5:07)
07. Human (8:22)
08. Deliverance (4:36)
09. Homecoming (2:27)


Mark Murdock / Drums
Peter Albrektsen / Guitars, Keyboards
Peter Rodel / Keyboards, Synths
Tim Pepper / Keyboards, Vocals, Backing Vocals

The Id |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[Review] The Id – Disaster Movie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *