[News] Apogee to release the 12th album “Through The Gate” On November 2023

Album number 12 by mastermind Arne Schäfer and his congenial partner Eberhard Graef. The 5th under the PPR flag. For so much trust we can be really proud. As usual a great Neo-, Retro Prog album with great longt racks.

Arne writes about it:
The new Apogee album Through the Gate is stylistically a bit more diversified again. Based on the elements of classic progressive rock (cf. Jethro Tull, Yes, Genesis, Gentle Giant, ELP, UK, Rush), the musical spectrum also extends to influences from classical music, folk rock and heavy rock and in the title track there are even clear jazz influences. The album contains 4 long tracks in the 12 – 16 minute range and two shorter pieces. As always, the pieces are structurally very complex, contain large-scale tension arcs, many odd rhythms and harmonic modulations, but also atmospheric elements, catchy choruses, improvised guitar solos and hymn-like passages, as well as Apogee-typical orchestrations. In the production, I again put a lot of emphasis on natural dynamics and transparency, so that each instrument remains clearly identifiable in the mix. As on the last Apogee albums, Ebi Graef plays the drums and I play all the other instruments. For the album cover we used beautiful astronomical photographs by Versus X technician Andreas Tofahrn , who also did the album layout.”

Pre-Order the album HERE


1. Noone But Ourselves (14:00)
2. Emotional Feedback (12:32)
3. At The Crossroads (5:04)      
4. Through The Gate (15:34)
5. Keep The Fame (8:28)
6. The Turning Point (12:50)


Arne Schäfer / Lead and Backing Vocals, Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Keyboards, Bass, Orchestrations
Eberhard Graef / Drums and Percussion

Apogee |Official Website|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Progressive Promotion Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *