[News] Blue Öyster Cult to release new album “The Symbol Remains”

Blue Öyster Cult are to release a new album entitled “The Symbol Remains.” The release comes almost two decades after the release of their last studio record, “Curse Of The Hidden Mirror,” and contains 14 new songs.

The sessions for the album began in 2019, including some songs being brought to the table that were already in the works. The goal was to craft an album giving an appropriate portrait of where the band is in the here and now. “As the song demos emerged, we realised there was as much if not more variety in style and content on this record as any in our history,” states BÖC lead vocalist and musician Eric Bloom. “We embraced this and the thing tying all the disparate elements together is the band’s sound and performance.”

The goal was for the new music to stand up to the quality and vitality of our legacy recordings and I believe we have successfully achieved that,” the band’s founder Donald ‘Buck Dharma’ Roeser concurs. “Other than that, the sound of our voices and style of our writing and playing can’t help but sound familiar to fans of our work.”

Bloom also explains that “The album title comes from a quote of an old Sandy Pearlman [famed BÖC producer and manager] lyric, which basically we are using to show that the band is back and still rocking after all these years. To me, it means we’re still here and doing what we do.”

Track List
1 That Was Me
2 Box In My Head
3 Tainted Blood
4 Nightmare Epiphany
5 Edge Of The World
6 The Machine
7 Train True (Lennie’s Song)
8 The Return Of St. Cecilia
9 Stand And Fight
10 Florida Man
11 The Alchemist
12 Secret Road
13 There’s A Crime
14 Fight

Blue Öyster Cult
Eric Bloom
Donald ‘Buck Dharma’ Roeser
Richie Castellano
Danny Miranda
Jules Radino

Blue Öyster Cult |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

1 thought on “[News] Blue Öyster Cult to release new album “The Symbol Remains”

Leave a Reply