[News] Calyces releases video for “The Great Void” from upcoming debut album

Greek progressive metal band Calyces has released their new single and official video “The Great Void” from their upcoming debut album “Impulse to Soar,” which will be released on October 16, 2020. Watch the video below:

The Athenian 4 piece prog rock / heavy metal act conists of Manthos Stergiou (Tardive Dyskinesia), who assumed the guitar and vocal duties, Alexis Stavropoulos (drums), Giannis Golfis (guitar) and Stelios Tragos (bass), all of them already being key members in Greek bands such as Insect Radio and Revenge Of The Giant Face. With 2018 as a starting point, the compositions of the debut album “Impulse to Soar” have been drawn and set to high standards of musicianship, forward-thinking perspective and surgical metal agility.

The soon-to-be-released album blends prog metal in the way it was shaped through the 00’s, with the finest elements of classic progressive rock from the 70’s, bridging the most important areas of the thinking man’s music. In their running time these 10 tracks feature sweeping low tuning heavy riffs with a barrage of polyrhythmic parties, alternated with atmospheric passages emphasizing on groove, melody and energy through the lens of an accurate songwriting.

It is a record that will add up to the collections of all supporters of modern age Mastodon, Alice In Chains, Intronaut, King Crimson, Baroness, Tool, The Mars Volta etc.

Additional flair and artistry was provided to the album with the participation of Jørgen Munkeby (Shining) with a saxophone solo on “Unfair Labour” and of Chrysa Tsaltampasi (Spineless, Bella Fuzz) with vocals on “Beyond Sight.” Mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer, Alan Douches (Mastodon, Kvelertak, The Dillinger Escape Plan etc.) and recorded in various studios around Athens with carefully selected collaborators in order to achieve the natural, organic sound that would highlight the material’s human substance, intertwined with the artistic complexity.

Watch the video for “Ego Dries Up the Ocean“: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMKVxW4D0V0

Calyces – Impulse to Soar

  1. False Awakening
  2. Ego Dries Up the Ocean
  3. Those Flames are Dancing Wild
  4. Parasites
  5. The Great Void
  6. Wired Crown
  7. Unfair Labor
  8. Home
  9. Beyond Sight
  10. Uneven Loops (Instrumental)
  11. We’re Lost, but it’s ok (Instrumental)


Manthos Stergiou: Guitar / Synths / Vocals
Giannis Golfis: Guitar
Stelios Tragos: Bass
Alex Stavropoulos: Drums

Pre-Order the album on Bandcamp: https://calyces.bandcamp.com/

Calyces |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply