[News] Cuneiform Records to reissue Soft Machine album “Noisette” on July 2023

A Cuneiform label reissue of Noisette.

Recorded January 4, 1970 at Fairfield Hall, Croydon, England, this was the first show performed by the short lived 1970 quintet version of Soft Machine and is taken from the same concert as “Facelift.”

Noisette” features the rest of the concert and showcases a band in transition from their earlier Psychedelic/Progressive approach towards the Jazz Rock innovations of Third and Fourth.

It features the quintet performing versions of material from their 1st two albums as well as material not available on their studio albums.

Mastered directly off of the 50 year old 15ips master tapes, this release boasts superb live sound for the time period and includes rare, unseen photos and liner notes by Aymeric Leroy.

Pre-Order the album here: https://burningshed.com/soft-machine_noisette_cd


  1. Eamonn Andrews 12:15
  2. Mousetrap 5:24
  3. Noisette 0:37
  4. Backwards 4:47
  5. Mousetrap [reprise] 0:25
  6. Hibou, Anemone and Bear 9:21
  7. Moon In June 6:55
  8. 12/8 Theme 11:24
  9. Esther’s Nose Job 14:59
  10. We Did It Again 7:16


Elton Dean / Alto Sax, Saxello
Lyn Dobson / Soprano Sax, Flute, Vocals
Hugh Hopper / Bass
Mike Ratledge / Electric Piano, Organ
Robert Wyatt / Drums, Vocals

Soft Machine |Official Website|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Cuneiform Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Burning Shed Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *