[News] Dee Calhoun announces his fourth album album “Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia” and unveil teaser

Singer/songwriter/author Dee Calhoun – the voice of Spiral Grave and the final voice of doom legends Iron Man – has announced the release of “Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia,” his fourth solo album.

Coming on June 23, 2023 the album will coincide with the release of Dee’s fifth book, “Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia (four devilish novelettes).” CD1 of the two-disc set will feature ten songs, while CD2 will feature the audiobook of the title novelette, read by the author.

Written during COVID lockdowns, the songs on “OSCtA” include a number of non-traditional stringed instruments such as cigar box guitars, shovel guitars, and diddley bows. Again joining Dee are bassist Louis Strachan and percussionist Rob Calhoun (who sings lead vocals on two tracks).

Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia” will be released by Argonauta Records on CD and Digital, and “Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia (four devilish novelettes)” will be available from Kindle Direct Publishing, each on June 23, 2023.

Stream the official teaser through the YouTube player below:


  1. The Day the Rats Came to Town
  2. Verachte Diese Hure
  3. A Wish in the Darkness
  4. New Modern World
  5. Conjured
  6. Pulse
  7. Self-Inflicted
  8. Stand With Me
  9. All I Need is One
  10. Old Scratch Comes to Appalachia

Dee Calhoun |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Argonauta Records|Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *