[News] Downes Braide Association unveil the official lyric video for “Clear Light” from upcoming album

Melodic Prog Rock duo Downes Braide Association has unveiled the official lyric video for the track “Clear Light” taken from upcoming new album “Celestial Songs” due out on September 08, 2023. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

The new album sees the pair again working with Lifesigns guitarist Dave Bainbridge and bass player Andy Hodge while Soft Cell signer Marc Almond makes a guest appearance.

Marc Almond makes a cameo appearance on The Darker Side Of Fame and Marc and Chris’ voices blend really well,” says Downes. “It tells a story, a theme that a lot of people, and a lot of musicians, can relate to – certainly musicians that have had any kind of success. The lyric is very poignant, whilst you have all the glory, the accolades and the adulation, it can go away and you’re left with nothing. It reflects life in general, I think, as people go through all kinds of ups and downs throughout their careers and throughout their lives.

As we were writing the songs for the album, they started to become thematic in emotion and feeling,” adds Braide. “More classic rock than the predecessor Halcyon Hymns. The songs were about life and death, time, love, nostalgia, spirituality. Very DBA in fact.

There’s a lot of variety on the album, too,” says Downes. “We were aiming to get quite a bit more dynamics into this album because there were some very quiet pastoral moments. I think it makes it a more interesting listen for people to get their heads around and enjoy. I hope people will appreciate it and get behind it, not just the songwriting and vocals but the overall instrumentation and musicianship is very high on this album.

Geoff Downes is a legendary British keyboard player known the world over for being a member of supergroups The Buggles, Asia and YES. He has been the powerhouse behind some of the most memorable keyboard driven Pop-Rock-Prog songs of the last 40 years. He has worked with an exceptional calibre of musician from Kate Bush and Mike Oldfield to Billy Idol and Agnetha Faltskog.

Chris Braide is one of the greatest songwriters the UK has ever known, having worked with Sia, Hans Zimmer, Nicki Minaj, David Guetta, Paloma Faith, Britney Spears, Beyoncé, Kylie Minogue and Lana Del Rey.

• Together, they form Downes Braide Association – a writing and recording partnership with a pedigree like no other.

• “Celestial Songs” is DBA’s fifth studio album and contains 11 emotive, reflective and magical songs which address these changing times. The tracks are sometimes dark and brooding, reflecting the anxiety, frailty and confusion of our modern world. However, there are also shafts of vivid sunlight which break through and providing uplifting anthems of resilience, hope and love.

• As with previous DBA releases, the cover artwork has been painted by Roger Dean, arguably the most famous album cover artist in the world.

• The album also features a contribution from Braide’s long-time friend and collaborator Marc Almond. The box-set includes 1xdigipack CD, 12″ Purple vinyl, a signed 12×12 special edition print and brand new artwork by Roger Dean.

Pre-Order the Boxset Edition here: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/downes-braide-association-celestial-songs-deluxe-12-box-set-edition/

Pre-Order the CD Edition here: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/downes-braide-association-celestial-songs-cd-edition/

Pre-Order the Vinyl Edition here: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/downes-braide-association-celestial-songs-vinyl-edition/



01Look What You Do
02. Clear Light
03. Keep On Moving
04. Darker Side Of Fame
05. Hey Kid
06. Will To Power
07. Heart Shaped Hole
08. Dear Petra
09. On The Run
10. Goodbye To You (Sister Shame)
11. Beyond The Stars


Side A
01Look What You Do
02. Clear Light
03. Keep On Moving

Side B
01. Darker Side Of Fame
02. Hey Kid
03. Will To Power

Side C
01. Heart Shaped Hole
02. Dear Petra
03. On The Run

Side D
01. Goodbye To You (Sister Shame)
102. Beyond The Stars

DBA (Downes Braide Association)) |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Cherry Red Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *