[News] Frost* announce fourth album “Day and Age”

Frost* are about to return with a new album of unreleased tracks, the first after five years of silence. The British Prog Rock band will release their new full length “Day And Age” on May 14, 2021 once again on InsideOut Music. On the fourth album Jem Godfrey, John Mitchell and Nathan King will be together again with the help of three different guest drummers: Kaz Rodriguez (Chaka Khan, Josh Groban), Darby Todd (The Darkness, Martin Barre) and Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, Mister Mister). The album also features actor Jason Isaacs.

The eight tracks of “Day And Age” were recorded between 2019 and 2020. The artwork is created by Carl Glover of Aleph Studios (Steven Wilson, Marillion, Steve Jansen). Below the tracklist of the album:

1.    Day And Age (11:49)
2.    Terrestrial (5:13)
3.    Waiting For The Lie (4:31)
4.    The Boy Who Stood Still (7:33)
5.    Island Life (4:14)
6.    Skywards (4:13)
7.    Kill The Orchestra (9:27)
8.    Repeat To Fade (6:14)

The album will be released in Limited 2xCD formats (with bonus disc with the entire album in instrumental version), Gatefold 180g 2LP + CD (with engraving on side D) and digitally. The preorder will be available from March 19, 2021.

In September 2019 Godfrey and Mitchell rented a cottage for a week in Helford, Cornwall and set about converting it into a recording studio. Renaming it “Troubled Cow Studios”, day one saw them write and record “Skywards” in complete demo form, “Island Life” was written on day two. On day three, the duo wrote what was to become the title and defining track of the new album, “Day And Age.”

The following January, the band setup a new temporary studio for a further week in a converted coastguard tower at Dungeness in East Sussex. “We were 30 feet by the sea, next to a nuclear power station and a lighthouse, in midwinter! So there was hardly any daylight and the weather was dreadful”, laughs bassist Nathan King, “We wrote “Terrestrial” and “Repeat To Fade” there and in my head you can absolutely hear the bleak isolated oppression having an effect on us. The songs we wrote were far darker – the wind howling round the building at night, the power station generating crackles on the audio, a huge lighthouse next door sweeping a vast light into the fog every 30 seconds and John screaming “ENJOY YOURSELVES YOU SCUM” into a microphone. It was absolutely brilliant!”.

In November 2020, Frost* released the career-retrospective collection “13 Winters” which featured all their studio albums to date, plus live material, b-sides & last years “Others EP” all packaged in a beautiful artbook.

Frost* was formed in 2004 by keyboard player and singer Jem Godfrey. Released in 2006 the band’s debut album “Milliontown” was an instant success and is regarded by many as a classic in the Modern Prog Rock genre featuring John Mitchell on guitar, John Jowitt on bass and Andy Edwards on drums. The band quickly followed it up with “Experiments In Mass Appeal” in 2008, in many ways the antithesis of “Milliontown” featuring a much more stripped back sound, more concise songs and a new band member and singer in the form of Dec Burke.

The live album “The Philadelphia Experiment” followed in 2009 and the a long gap followed before 3rd album “Falling Satellites” was released in 2016 with a new line-up of Nathan King on bass and Craig Blundell on drums, plus returning guitarist and singer John Mitchell on guitar who also co-wrote much of the album with Jem Godfrey.

Frost* |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

InsideOut Music |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply