[News] Gavial share the official music video for the track “Wheels” taken from their new album

German Heavy Blues/Psychedelic Rock band Gavial share the official music video for the track “Wheels” from their new full-length album “VOR,” out on May 19, 2023 via Exile On Mainstream. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Formerly known as Tourette Boys, Gavial weaves musical inspiration from ambient, soul, gospel, and country into different threads from a carpet of sound that simply ignores the sharp cliffs of redundant categories such as retro or Stoner. “VOR” is characterized by the search for a contemporary expression of the blues without questioning its authenticity. The music doesn’t need name-dropping, but if you still want to make room in your thematically sorted record shelf, you’re welcome to make some room in the compartments in which you put your Screaming Trees, The Flying Eyes, The Black Crowes, or Woodcocks, so that Gavial can find space in them.

Lyrically, Gavial is cautiously concrete, exploring the ambivalent depths of the soul where there are more questions than answers. Singer Benjamin Butter intones lyrical sketches of emotional states between melancholy, quiet anger, and hope, reminiscent of Charles Baudelaire, and turns the voice into another instrument. The interplay with driving bass lines and Americana-esque guitars results in music as it should be: melodic but not profane, accessible but with a fragile base.

VOR” was recorded in the band’s rehearsal room and mixed by Benjamin Butter and Bernard Camilleri, who has become their go-to sound engineer. Bernard Camilleri did the mastering at his Xekillton Studio in Malta. The artwork is from the Flowers Of Terrible series by Berlin-based artist Hamid Yaraghchi.

With the new video, the band collectively offers: “Wheels deals with bad interaction patterns in relationships. These are often reproduced and consolidated by our actions. While we are able to change these patterns for the better, this process can take up a lot of time and effort. Because of that, the song tries to encourage us to reflect on our behavior and interaction with other people.

VOR” is out now through Exile On Mainstream on Black Vinyl LP HERE and digitally via Bandcamp HERE and all other streaming points. Also watch the previously issued video for “Circles, Part 1” HERE.

01. Circles, Part 1
02. Modern Times
03. Collector
04. Bridges
05. Circles Part 2
06. Wheels
07. Passing
08. Famethrower

Gavial Live:
9/29/2023 Archiv – Potsdam, DE
9/30/2023 Blechschloss (Scheune) – Dresden, DE
10/02/2023 Urban Spree –Berlin, DE

Gavial |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Exile on Mainstream Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *