[News] German Prog Metal trio The Hirsch Effekt share new single “Granica”

German Prog Metal trio The Hirsch Effekt have released their new single “Granica” along with a music video. It’s the fourth and final single before their new album “Urian” is being released on September 29th, 2023 via Long Branch Records.

Corona infection-related isolation forces Nils and Ilja to carry out their planned songwriting session in two different places. When the second test line was gone, the allotted time was almost over. “Granica” is the virtue born of need, because the rest of the time didn’t allow another fiddly prog song anymore. In hindsight, a happy circumstance for the album since it would be missing a spherical track that becomes a Shoegaze-like Post-Rock breaker in the second half. And with it comes a color that you rarely see in the Hirsch universe.

Stream “Granica” and Pre-Order the new album here: https://thehirscheffekt.lnk.to/urian

Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

The lyrics describe the protagonist’s consternation that he “woke up in another world” on February 24th, 2022. This is made clear by an act of leaping out of helplessness, hastily offering his driving services and The Hirsch Effekt‘s own trailer to an aid convoy that is planning a trip to the Polish-Ukrainian border at short notice. Plagued by strong doubts during the journey as to whether this is really an effective way to get involved and help, it becomes clear at the first service area behind the German-Polish border: ‚Äúwe are by no means the only ones here who have the feeling “You have to help'” and needed an outlet for the own actions. A formative journey, at the end of which there lies the following certainty: “Forget it now! Nothing, really nothing, will ever be the same.‚ÄĚ

With charting at #21 in the German album charts, and formidable show-offs at Wacken Open AirFull Force FestivalArcTanGent and as recent headliners at the renowned Euroblast FestivalThe Hirsch Effekt have impressively established themselves in the German progressive metal landscape.

Three years after the release of their latest album¬†“Kollaps”¬†the band marks their return with the release of their upcoming full-length, entitled¬†“Urian,” out¬†September 29, 2023¬†via¬†Long Branch Records.¬†

Urian¬†dives musically deep into the increasingly obtrusive ambivalence between crises and everyday life.¬†Significantly less conceptual than the 2020 album¬†“Kollaps,” it is nevertheless an absolute further evolution. Textual ciphers seem more intimate, relationships and references are apparently obvious. Socio-political topics are discussed, in which the musicians critically question themselves and current developments. In addition to democracy-destroying bots that nestle in people’s heads in Instagram comments,¬†The Hirsch Effekt¬†gives a voice to those who don’t have one or to those for whom all the beautiful life is still waiting. From this dystopian, but clear understanding of the world and values, a civilized hope arises, thanks to which¬†“Urian¬†is allowed to still stay over for tea.

1. Agora
2. Otus
3. 2054
4. Urian
5. Stegodon
6. Granica
7. Blud
8. Eristys

Nils Wittrock
/ Guitar, Vocals
Ilja John Lappin / Bass, Vocals
Moritz Schmidt / Drums

The Hirsch Effekt |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Long Branch Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *