[News] Gojira announce their long-awaited new album and drop single “Born For One Thing”

Gojira’s new album is finally upon us – well, almost. The French metal titans and environmental activists have announced their upcoming record “Fortitude,” to be released April 30, 2021 and have also dropped a new single titled “Born For One Thing.”

The new track takes an anti-consumerist stance, and draws its inspiration from the Tibetan and Thai philosophers that vocalist/guitarist Joe Duplantier discovered whilst growing up in France.

Duplantier explains: “We have to practice detaching ourselves from everything, beginning with actual things“.

Own less possessions, and give what you don’t need away, because one day we’ll have to let everything go, and if we don’t, we’ll just become ghosts stuck between dimensions“.

Recently, the band shared a cryptic video on their social media channels that revealed 11 symbols flashing through the screen. Each was rumoured to be linked to a song name from the band’s upcoming album.

Gojira have now confirmed those rumours via a website launch featuring the symbols with the option to click through to see their corresponding titles. The list also includes single “Another World,” which was released last August.

The “Fortitude” album art, designed by Joe Duplantier, has also been revealed.

It’s certainly been a long wait since Gojira‘s last record — releasing the Grammy-award nominated Magma back in 2016 — but thankfully their latest instalment isn’t too far off the horizon.

Watch the video for “Born For One Thing” below:


01. Born For One Thing
02. Amazonia
03. Another World
04. Hold On
05. New Found
06. Fortitude
07. The Chant
08. Sphinx
09. Into The Storm
10. The Trails
11. Grind

Fortitude” is now available for pre-order via Roadrunner Records: https://shop.roadrunnerrecords.co.uk/uk/artists/gojira.html

Gojira |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Roadrunner Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply