[News] Grateful Dead published Seaside Chat to present “Dave’s Picks Volume 42: Winterland, San Francisco, 2/23/74”

One more Saturday night at Winterland! Yes, we’re back to home base for “Dave’s Picks Volume 42,” the complete show from Winterland, San Francisco, 2/23/74. The one that featured the earliest amalgamation of what would soon become the Wall of Sound, the one that is so “loud, clear, and defined,” it’s been ripe for release for quite some time and we’re glad it’s finally getting its due.

Bold Prediction: The NFC North will...

First set or second, there are no wrong answers here. From the unique show opener of Chuck Berry‘s “Around And Around” and an incredible “Here Comes Sunshine” that would then disappear for 18 years, to a medley of Wake Of The Flood tracks – “Row Jimmy,” “Weather Report Suite,” and “Stella Blue” – cementing their status in the canon and an unstoppable hour through the classic 1973-1974 Dead that is “He’s Gone”>“Truckin’”>“Drums”>“The Other One”>“Eyes Of The World,” it’s all exceptionally hot.

Limited to 25,000 numbered copies, “Dave’s Picks Volume 42: Winterland, San Francesco, 2/23/74” was recorded by Kidd Candelario and has been mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering. Grab a copy while you can.

Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Pre-order here: https://store.dead.net/dave-s-picks-vol-42.htm


Disc 1

1. Around And Around [5:17]

2. Dire Wolf [4:41]

3. Me And Bobby McGee [6:08]

4. Sugaree [7:41]

5. Mexicali Blues [3:44]

6. Here Comes Sunshine [11:43]

7. Beat It On Down The Line [3:55]

8. Ship Of Fools [6:05]

9. Jack Straw [5:05]

10. Deal [4:55]

11. Promised Land> [3:07]

12. Bertha> [6:04]

13. Greatest Story Ever Told [5:29]

Disc 2

1. Row Jimmy [9:36]

2. Weather Report Suite>18:50]

Prelude [1:21]

Part I [4:29]

Part II (Let It Grow) [13:00]

3. Stella Blue [9:05]

4. Big River [5:10]

5. Ramble On Rose [7:09]

6. Me And My Uncle [3:44]

7. Johnny B. Goode [4:16]

8. And We Bid You Goodnight [3:23]

Disc 3

1. He’s Gone> [14:18]

2. Truckin’> [8:09]

3. Drums [3:29]

4. The Other One> [20:44]

5. Eyes Of The World>[14:42]

6. One More Saturday Night [5:38]

7. Casey Jones [7:31]

Grateful Dead |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply