[News] Guerssen Records to reissue the self-titled album by UK band “Horse”

Psychedelic Hard Rock with Occult overtones by this London based band featuring drummer Ric Parnell (Atomic Rooster, Spinal Tap…).

This is their sought-after sole album, originally released in 1970 and housed in a cover designed by Roger Wootton of Comus.

Horse formed in 1968 when former high school friends Rod Roach and Adrian Hawkins started writing songs together. Rod had previously played lead guitar with various groups (included a brief stint with Andromeda). Horse final lineup was established in early 1969 with Adrian Hawkins on vocals, Rod Roach on guitar, Colin Standring on bass and Ric Parnell on drums. Horse started gigging around London, sharing stage with acts like Deep Purple, Joe Cocker and David Bowie, soon establishing a large following due to their exciting live shows. After receiving interest from several record companies, they finally signed with RCA Records.

The Horse self-titled album was recorded at Olympic Studios, produced by Rod Roach and released in 1970.

It’s a fantastic example of Post-Psychedelia and early Hard Rock/proto-Metal, dominated by Roach’s killer fuzz-wah guitar and Hawkins powerful vocals.

Including tracks like the occult themed “The Sacrifice” and more!

*First ever vinyl reissue in original artwork
*Sourced from the original production tapes
*Insert with liner notes

RIYL: Black Sabbath, Andromeda, Open Mind, Black Widow, Bulldog Breed

…truly excellent, veering between prog, psych and metal while retaining pop sensibilities…” – Galactic Ramble

Stream the official promo through the YouTube player below:

Stream the track The Sacrifice” through the YouTube player below:

Stream the track “The Greet Sun” throughthe YouTube player below:

Pre-Order the Black LP Version here: https://guerssen.com/product/horse/

Pre-Order the Limited Purple LP Version here: https://guerssen.com/product/horse-purple-lp/

Side 1:
1. The Sacrifice – 2. See The People Creeping Round – 3. And I Have Loved You – 4. Freedom River – 5. Lost Control
Side 2: 1. To Greet The Sun – 2. The Journey – 3. Heat of The Summer – 4. Gypsy Queen – 5. Step Out of Line

Guerssen Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|X (Twitter)|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *