[News] Katatonia return with a new single “Lacquer”

Katatonia have announced their return by releasing their new single “Lacquer.”

The track has been taken from the band’s upcoming studio album titled “City Burials,” which will be released on April 24 through Peaceville.

Speaking about the follow-up to 2016’s The Fall Of Hearts, guitarist Anders Nyström says: “In days and nights of black and silver, the dead end king will come.”

From pieces of broken mirrors there will be a crown bestowed upon his head. In reflections of shattered glass not only the seasons will turn, but also the change disguised by the lapse of time. “

His mind will have to come to bear the weight of everything that was left behind and forgotten. Archiving the inaccessible. Celebrating the abandoned and mourning the destroyed. The city burials.

City Burials” will be released on CD, deluxe mediabook CD with two bonus tracks, black and coloured vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms.

It was engineering by Karl Daniel Lidén, while mixing and mastering duties were handled by Jacob Hansen, who says: “Once in a while you end up working with artists that are special, and that particular session being something you’ll remember forever.”

This session is one of them, and only for good things! Proud to say I mixed and mastered the new Katatonia album.

The cover of “City Burials” was created by Lasse Hoile.

Katatonia will perform at several festivals over the summer months, with details on a headline tour set to be revealed in the coming weeks.

Katatonia: City Burials
1. Heart Set To Divide
2. Behind The Blood
3. Lacquer 
4. Rein
5. The Winter Of Our Passing
6. Vanishers
7. City Glaciers
8. Flicker
9. Lachesis
10. Neon Epitaph
11. Untrodden
12. Closing Of The Sky (Bonus)
13. Fighters (Bonus)

Pre-order for new upcoming album is open through Katatonia‘s Official Website: https://katatoniaband.lnk.to/cityburials

Detailed Info and ticket for Tour dates are available on the Katatonia Official Website: http://katatonia.com/

Katatonia |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *