[News] Let SVIN carry you away with the corrosive grooves and hazy moods of new video single “Dødsensangst”

Introducing SVIN is the new album by Danish Avant-Garde Rock trio SVIN, it will out on July 15, 2022 on LP, CD and digital formats via Tonzonen Records.

On their seventh album Introducing SVIN, avangardists SVIN widen their musical scope once more by incorporating electronics and vocal collaborations with renowned singers Bisse and Marie Eline Hansen. The result is a dynamic, techno-mechanic sounding record, that aligns with the contemporary ever accelerating integration of the digital and analog domains of man and machine within human existence and experience.

Today, SVIN revealed the first video single “Dødsenangst” with a premiere via Everything Is Noise, which you can check out right here:


Everything Is Noise notes: “SVIN are a testament to the kind of musical act that is extremely difficult to verbally restrict in existing genre definitions. While the avant-garde angle offers something of a vague expression of what to expect, you really just need to direct your undivided attention towards them and listen to fully grasp what they’re about. On Dødsenangst, the trio leads with pulsating electronics that at times evolve into sound design-esque territories and at others into noisier barrage, all the while taking a firm lead with a psychedelic and rather trippy atmosphere.

The band has made their mark on the international music scene since debuting in 2011 with the album Heimat. After consolidating the current line-up, SVIN released their 5th album “Virgin Cuts” in 2018. The album features music that drags the listener into a sonic loophole between noise-infested rock, drony landscapes, new age minimalism and dusty afro-tripping, drawing on heavy inspirations from nature, folklore, ceremonial music and avant-garde.

SVIN has performed at festivals such as Roskilde Festival, Eurosonic and by:Larm and has during the recent years toured extensively all over Europe, Russia and the Balkans. The band is a part of the programme “The Young Artistic Elite” from 2019 – 2022 supported by The Danish Arts Foundation. In 2019, SVIN was commissioned to compose music for the contemporary ensemble, Århus Sinfonietta, which premiered at Aarhus Festuge, and in January 2022, the music from this commision was released on the album “Elegi.”

SVIN’s new album “Introducing SVIN” expands on the trio’s bricolage aesthetics by adding a higher degree of electronics to the studio production. This delivers a robotic, futuristic feel of man and machine interwoven in a simultaneously manually operated and techo-mechanic musical multiverse. The cyborg-ish jazz rock vibes circulate in an musical reality with the natural and digital domains continuously shifting role and meaning, a stance visually reoccurring in the glitchy album artwork shaped by Ana Vujovic.

Upon entering the studio, the new material was more unpolished than at prior sessions with more left to chance and the spur of the moment during the two recording sessions with producer Jens Benz (Iceage a.o.). New paths were taken and collabs emerged with renowned singer Bisse and his twisted chant on Bøn and ditto Marie Eline Hansen’s (Traening a.o.) calmly-anxious speak on album closer Dødsensangst. As ever, SVIN hits the sweet spot between improvisation and structure, keeping enough elastic to make the music breathe, break and creating head space for the listener within the strange, soothing intersectional sounds that makes up “Introducing SVIN.”

1. Obelisk   
2. From Within   
3. Bøn   
4. Snake   
5. Herbalism   
6. Årring   
7. Punklort   
8. Deadweight
9. Dødsensangst

SVIN |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Tonzonen Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply