[News] Lindisfarne’s second album “Fog On The Tyne” to be reissued on LP replicates the original version

Recorded at London’s Trident Studios by Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen producer Bob Johnston and Bowie engineer Ken Scott, Lindisfarne‘s second album “Fog On The Tyne” saw the band hit both a commercial and creative peak. 

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1971 Charisma Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

Fog On The Tyne,” the second album from the legendary Newcastle Upon Tyne Folk Rockers  Lindisfarne was originally released on Charisma Records in October 1971 – The album made them UK superstars, reaching No 1 in the album chart for four weeks in March 1972.

Lindisfarne, in their first incarnation, burned brightly and briefly. A group of five talented musicians from the northeast, led by the songwriting genius of Alan Hull. Lindisfarne were formed in 1968 when Hull joined Simon Cowe on guitar, Ray Jackson on mandolin and vocals, Rod Clements on bass and Ray Laidlaw on drums. Building a fearsome live reputation, by 1970 they had been signed to Tony Stratton Smith‘s Charisma label.

Their first album, “Nicely Out Of Tune,” contained “Lady Eleanor” and set up an eager audience for “Fog On The Tyne,” an album of tremendous light and shade. Known for the Rod Clements-written, Ray Jackson-sung “Meet Me On The Corner,” and Alan Hull‘s anthemic title track. The album succeeds in creating a mythical, twilight northeast, from the cover design inwards; of city lights, ragmen, sausage rolls, tattered tweeds and having a \”wet on the wall.”

Fog On The Tyne” is the sound of a band at both a commercial and creative peak. The musicianship is second to none, watertight, yet relaxed and freewheeling, recorded at London’s Trident Studios by Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen producer Bob Johnston and Bowie engineer Ken Scott.

For lovers of anthemic yet tender Folk-infused Pop music, “Fog On The Tyne” is a must-have.

This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1971 Charisma Records UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

Pre-Order the album here: https://burningshed.com/lindisfarne_fog-on-the-tyne_vinyl


Side A
1. Meet Me On The Corner
2. Alright On The Night
3. Uncle Sam
4. Together Forever
5. January Song

Side B
1. Peter Brophy Don’t Care
2. City Song
3. Passing Ghosts
4. Train In G Major
5. Fog On The Tyne

Lindisfarne |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|

Burning Shed Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *