[News] Mahogany Frog unveil the official video for “A Decision Of The Flower” from upcoming album

Canadian Experimental Progressive Rockers Mahogany Frog unveil the official video for the track “A Decision Of The Flower” taken from upcoming album “Faust” due out on March 25, 2022. Watch the video thrugh the YouTube player below:

Mahogany Frog’s “Faust” is an original score set to the eponymous 1926 German silent film. Directed by F. W. Murnau, “Faust” is widely regarded to be among the greatest films of the silent era. It tells the classic legend of fate and temptation that dates back centuries. In this, their latest offering, Mahogany Frog brings together their collective experience in composition, Experimentation, Electronics, intense Rock & Roll, and searing Fuzz guitar. Together they weave a dark and diverse score around Faust’s brooding tale of corruption, devastation and redemption.

The Frog Pond (Autumn) -Sir Sandfor...

The music for “Faust” was initially written and rehearsed over the span of three months, culminating in a premier performance at the Roxy Theatre, a historic atmospheric cinema in Saskatoon. Three more performances in Edmonton, Calgary, and Winnipeg followed. Accompanying the band on this tour was audio engineer Grant Trippel, who later recorded the studio sessions at EDR in February of 2020.

In the interim, Mahogany Frog worked on their seventh studio record Mahogany Frog In The Electric Universe. Following work on …Electric Universe, the live recordings were revisited and work on Faust began anew. Whereas …Electric Universe was tightly produced, polished and positive; Faust was envisioned as being dark, raw and emotional. Over the course of 12 months, sessions at four different studios yielded the raw materials for a dense and maximalist sonic tapestry. Final editing, mixing and mastering was completed over the next 3 months, first to picture and then for LP.

The mood of Faust is varied and complex. There are many faces of Mahogany Frog. Harsh noise, electronic drones, and pulsing textures flow in and out of dark and heavy, guitar-driven riffage. Soothing washes of melodic synth-pop flow through syrupy, languid organs only to be obliterated by the shrieks of the damned and the devil himself. LOVE.

• Recorded Live and In-Studio between 2017 – 2021.
• Available in vinyl 2XLP, CD, and on most streaming platforms
• Contains a seamless blend of live and studio recordings
• Entirely self-produced
• 100% Organic, Farm-to-Table, Non-GMO, Locally Sourced, Whole Grain

Pre-order the album on Bandcamp: https://mahoganyfrog.bandcamp.com/album/faust


01. Introduction
02. Faust I (Including: Alchemy)
03. Plague I
04. Dirge I
05. Crossroads
06. Stoned I
07. Flying Carpet I
08. Faust II
09. Introduction II: Smokey Reflections
10. The Mando Glass
11. Muhme Marthe
12. We Encircle Within This Ring
13. A Decision Of The Flower 05:32 video
14. Flying Carpet II: Sword Fight
15. Dirge II
16. Plague II: Insanity
17. Stoned II: Funeral Pyre
18. Faust III: Ascension


Mahogany Frog is Graham Epp, Jesse Warkentin, Scott Ellenberger and Andy Rudolph
Bass Clarinet on “Crossroads” and “The Mando Glass” played by Dan Moroz

Mahogany Frog |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply