[News] Marjana Semkina announces her debut solo album

Marjana Semkina, the singer of Iamthemorning, will release her debut solo album “Sleepwalking” on 14 February 2020 via Kscope.

The album highlit her unique voice, poetic lirycs with literary references and complex melodic lines. A mixture of Alternative Folk, Pop, Drama, Beauty and Emotionally purging lirycs.

Featuring Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), Craig Bundell and Nick Beggs (Steve Wilson) and St. Petersburg Orchestra “1703”, the album will be released under an alternative spelling: Mariana Semkina.

Marjana comments: “It wasn’t my plan to ascribe any profound meaning or concept to creating Sleepwalking, it’s purpose was more personally therapeutic, it was supposed just to help me get through some dark times, and at the end of that period in my life I found myself, not only renewed but with a collection of songs that were too personal to release under any other name other than my own.

She continues: “I wanted to use Sleepwalking as a way to translate emotions in the most sincere and unrefined way. No sugarcoating, no filters, just creative, honest thought caught in the moment. Turning those dark times and feelings into pure creative energy, something beautiful, something that has purpose

A preview of the new songs is released and can be heard below:

The album artwork makes reference to Semkina’s love for classical art, unifying photography with the 17th-Century Vanitas movement.

She comments: “I am a big lover of classical art, and with this cover I wanted to create some sort of a unity between medium of photography and the Vanitas art movement, a genre of still life painting. The paintings of the genre usually contain collections of objects symbolic of the inevitability of death and the transience and vanity of earthly achievements and pleasures; it exhorts the viewer to consider mortality, which is extremely close to where this album came from.

Track List

1. Dark Matter [03:12]
2. Am I Sleeping Or Am I Dead [04:27]
3. Turn Back Time [04:06]
4. Ars Longa Vita Brevis [03:03]
5. Invisible [03:07]
6. Lost At Sea [04:59]
7. Skin [04:52]
8. How To Be Alone [02:50]
9. Everything Burns [03:14]
10. Mermaid Song [04:32]
11. Still Life [04:08]

Marjana Semkina |Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Kscope |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *