[News] Meshuggah release the new album and unveil the single “Broken Cog” + exclusive live listening party announced

Meshuggah’s anticipated new album Immutable is out today on Atomic Fire! In celebration of the record’s release, the band has unveiled a new video for Immutable’s opening track “Broken Cog,” now playing on YouTube! Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

Immutable is available now on all streaming platforms and for purchase at:

Don’t miss MESHUGGAH’s exclusive LIVE listening party

  • April 1st @ 3:00pm EDT / 9:00pm CET / 8:00pm GMT –

Celebrate the release of Immutable and join the listening party!

Frank Godla of Metal Injection will be hosting the inaugural broadcast on https://www.stationhead.com/meshuggah where he’ll talk to drummer Tomas Haake and take live questions while listening together to the new album. Tune in!
Mavericks. Pioneers. Unique. Immutable.

This year’s most significant lesson has been to expect the unexpected, which also applied to the release of the long-awaited Meshuggah album, Immutable, as the most anticipated album of 2022.

Meshuggah has always been way ahead of the game and plainly without peer. Six years on from the band’s most recent full-length “The Violent Sleep Of Reason,” 2022 brings a fresh and fearsome revelation from the band. Shattering even the highest of expectations, the band’s ninth album, Immutable, showcases just how far ahead of the pack the band continues to be.

The album is a significant departure from the relentless riffing and monochrome churn of Koloss or The Violent Sleep Of Reason. With vocalist Jens Kidman recording his own vocals in his home studio and lead guitarist Fredrik Thordendal manifesting his solos at his own Studio 33, Immutable is a true team effort and another triumph of resourcefulness and meticulous attention to detail. Meshuggah had never felt more inspired when they found themselves in a new environment at Studio Sweetspot. “Dick pitched Sweetspot to us,” guitarist Mårten Hagström recalls. “They have lots of experience but mainly with other types of music. It was out in the sticks, in a big shed in the middle of a field! We had no tours going on and we rented a tour bus for cheap. We drove it down there and we lived in that. So basically, we went on tour to record the album [laughs], and we worked our brains into pieces! But it was also really free. We went for comfort and quality and a working situation where we didn’t feel stressed at all. That was awesome, and the strongest parts of this album are because of that.” As Hagström explains, fans should prepare themselves for the unexpected. “This album is more melodic. It’s longer, and in my opinion, it’s more dynamic than most of our albums,” he states.

Gifted with the opportunity to spend more time than ever on the fine details of their new material, the Swedes have effectively reconstructed their trademark sound on Immutable, imbuing every last moment of this epic record with irresistible power and ingenuity. “We wanted to go for air and for dynamics, and lo and behold, that actually makes it sound way more like a band, from my perspective,” says Hagström. Destined to be one of 2022’s most hailed and talked-about releases, Immutable once again showcases Meshuggah’s collective brilliance, including some of the most jaw-dropping ensemble performances they have ever executed.

Immutable. “The title fits perfectly for where we are as a band,Hagström concludes. “Even though we’ve been experimenting all along, I also think we’ve been the same since day one. The way we approach things and why we still make new albums, and why we still sound the way we do, it’s immutable. Humanity is immutable, too. We commit the same mistakes over and over. And we are immutable. We do what we do and we don’t change.

Immutable” was recorded at Sweetspot Studios in Halmstad, Sweden, mixed by Rickard Bengtsson and Staffan Karlsson, and mastered by multiple Grammy award winner Vlado Meller (Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, Red Hot Chili Peppers, System Of A Down). Visionary artist Luminokaya once again created the record’s stunning cover art.

Immutable” is available now on CD, exclusive vinyl variants, cassette, and digitally. Order the record and find additional merchandise here: https://meshuggah.afr.link/immutable

In case you missed it, view the band’s epic video for “The Abysmal Eye” here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EpE8hTCyWM

Sign up for email updates and receive more news about Meshuggah’s “Immutable,” along with exclusive offers, tour updates and more here: https://immutable.se/


  1. Broken Cog
  2. The Abysmal Eye
  3. Light The Shortening Fuse
  4. Phantoms
  5. Ligature Marks
  6. God He Sees In Mirrors
  7. They Move Below
  8. Kaleidoscope
  9. Black Cathedral
  10. I Am That Thirst
  11. The Faultless
  12. Armies Of The Preposterous
  13. Past Tense

Jens Kidman / Vocals
Mårten Hagström / Guitars
Dick Lövgren / Bass
Fredrik Thordendal / Guitars
Tomas Haake / Drums

Meshuggah |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Atomic Fire Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply