[News] Mike Keneally published the official video for “Spigot (Draw the Pirate)” taken from new abum

US Progressive Rocker Mike Keneally published the official video for the track “Spigot (Draw the Pirate)” taken from new abum “The Thing That Knowledge Can’t Eat” out on Febryary 24, 2023 via Exowax Recordings. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

The new album is called “The Thing That Knowledge Can’t Eat.” It is a beautifully succinct album – nine songs, 42 minutes long, in the honorable, this-album-is-not-too-long tradition of Pet Sounds, Rubber Soul, and Kid A!

The “official” wide release date for the album (Amazon, streaming, download, etc.) is February 24, 2023.

Esteemed music writer George Varga writes in the San Diego Union-Tribune that the six-year gap between albums was “…well worth the extended wait. From the near-Broadway piano lilt of “Logos,” the jaunty, multi-vocal opening cut, to the breathtaking intricacies of “The Carousel of Progress,” which concludes the album with a finely calibrated art-rock flourish, “The Thing That Knowledge Can’t Eat” is a multifaceted aural treat. It showcases Keneally’s accomplished songwriting skills and dazzling musical prowess without him showing off.

Pre-order here: https://store.keneally.com/products/mike-keneally-the-thing-that-knowledge-cant-eat-cd-plus-download


  1. Logos
  2. Both Sides of the Street
  3. Mercury in Second Grade
  4. Celery
  5. Spigot (Draw the Pirate)
  6. Ack
  7. Lana
  8. Big Hit Song
  9. The Carousel of Progress


Mike Keneally (Frank Zappa, MFTJ, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai) / All Vocals and Instruments
Eric Slick
/ Drums (3)
Pete Griffin (Dethklok, Zappa Plays Zappa) / Bass (4,5)
Nick D’Virgilio (Spock’s Beard, Genesis, Kevin Gilbert, Big Big Train) / Drums (4,5)
Steve Vai / Guitar Solos (4)
Peter Tiehuis / Guitar (6)
Bart van Lier / Trombone (6)
Herman van Haaren / Violin (6)
Hans Vroomans / Acoustic and Electric Piano (6)
Ruud Breuls / Trumpets (6)
Leo Jansen / Tenor Saxophone (6)
Marc Scholten / Alto Saxophone (6)
Murk Jiskoot / Percussion (6)
Bryan Beller (The Aristocrats, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani) / Bass (6)
Arno van Nieuwenhuizen / Drums (6)
Ted Morton / Drums (7)
Tobias Ralph (Adrian Belew) / Drums (8)
Malcolm Mortimore (Gentle Giant, Colosseum) / Drums (9)

Mike Keneally |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Exowax Recordings |Facebook Page|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *