[News] Planet P Project: late Rainbow keyboardist reissues first Experimental album onto vinyl

After a couple of world tours with the hard rock band Rainbow between 1975 and 1977. Tony Carey was ready to move on and begin his work on his solo career. After two successful albums Carey found himself in an interesting position. He had written a ton of new music that didn’t fit his upcoming third album as Tony Carey. He quickly signed another deal with Geffen Records and would release this new music under the pseudonym, Planet P Project.

Renaissance Records has announced the arrival of the reissue of Planet P Project‘s first self titled album onto vinyl. Planet P Project‘s self titled album is an Experimental Progressive Rock album with science-fiction concepts. It revolves around the general story of an astronaut who can’t come
back to Earth because the planet has been destroyed. The highly acclaimed single “Why Me,” was released as Planet P Project‘s first single. “Why Me” went
on to reach #64 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and #4 in the magazines Top Rock Tracks chart in 1983. The music video for “Why Me” also received exposure during the early MTV days. The tracks, “Power Tools” and “King For A Day” also received some airplay during this time.

This album is like being apart of a space odyssey.” Jonie Lyle, inventory assistant explains. “It creates it’s own chronicles of science-fiction adventures through each track.

It’s a very exciting, surreal and energy filled album that is often thought provoking. Lyle says.

Side 1

01. Static
02. King For A Day
03. I Won’t Wake Up
04. Top Of The World
05. Armageddon

Side 2

01. Why Me?
02. Power Tools
03. Send It In A Letter
04. Adam and Eve
05. Only You and Me
06. Tranquility Base

Additional information on this release and upcoming releases is available at www.RenaissanceRecordsUS.com.

Pre-orders are available on their online store: https://www.renaissancerecordsus.com/BuyVinyl.html

Tony Carey |Official Website|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Reneissance Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply