[News] Porcupine Tree drop video for the track “Herd Culling” taken from upcoming new album

UK Prog Rockers Porcupine Tree have released a video for brand new song, the powerful “Herd Culling,” taken from “Closure/Continuation,” the band’s first new album since 2009’s “The Incident,” and which will be released through Music For Nations on June 24, 2022. Watch the video through the YouTube player below:

It was the final song written for the album,” explains Steven Wilson. “When the rest of the songs were assembled we felt there was still musically a “hole” for something dramatic in the middle of the album, so it became the only song written as a three way collaboration between all of us. Beginning with Gavin coming up with an unusual rhythm in 11 (he’ll never give you something easy!), it was then a case of myself and Richard finding the music, and both of us working with sequenced electronics and sound design, alongside the quiet/loud guitar dynamics.

Decibel Peak // Pitlane Memories (T...

The full 7 minute version is a musical storytelling which features several other sections, but I think the edit works quite well as a more conventionally structured piece too – a smaller bite of music. Lyrically it’s about a very specific event in history, but it also deals with the broader theme of paranoia in the modern age – someone or something is coming up your driveway or in your front garden, and their/its motives are unclear. The title obviously takes on extra resonance in our Covid times.

Porcupine Tree have previously released videos for “Harridan and Of The New Day.”

Closure/Continuation will be available as a seven track album on standard CD/double vinyl/coloured vinyl or limited cassette. The deluxe LP version comes on audiophile approved crystal clear vinyl as a 3xLP 45rpm boxset with two bonus tracks; the deluxe CD & Bluray boxset comes with three bonus tracks, instrumental versions, and high resolution 96/24 stereo, 5.1 and Dolby Atmos versions of the album, all housed in an exclusive art book.

Pre-orders are open here: https://porcupinetree.lnk.to/PTCC


  1. Harridan (8:07)
  2. Of the new day (4:43)
  3. Rats Return (5:40)
  4. Dignity (8:22)
  5. Herd Culling (7:03)
  6. Walk the Plank (4:27)
  7. Chimera’s Wreck (9:39)

Steven Wilson / Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Synthesisers & Sampler
Richard Barbieri / Keyboards, Synthesiser, Piano & Sound Processing
Gavin Harrison / Drums & Percussion

Porcupine Tree |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Music For Nations |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply