[News] Prog Rocker Le Cygne Noir returns with 3x star-studded tracks

21st Century electronic/prog maverick – LE CYGNE NOIR – is back with a hat-trick of brand new singles.

Releasing two previously unheard original tracks “Andrew” and “Skylights”, the trio of tracks also include an energising rework of the 1984 Thompson Twins classic “Doctor! Doctor!”, featuring remarkable guest vocals from gothic rock royalty Julianne Regan (All About Eve) and Ashton Nyte (The Awakening). 

Though little is known about the identity of Le Cygne Noir, in 2019 the enigmatic songwriter stepped-up to the spotlight with his acclaimed debut album ‘Shadow of a Wrecking Ball’, an album about global contagion and the end of the world way before it became the new normal…

Returning in 2022, Le Cygne Noir now presents three never before released tracks recorded around the same time as his debut, that didn’t quite fit the “zombie apocalypse” briefing. 

Finding the artist in no less exuberant form, the revengeful rock acrobatics of “Andrew” snake and writhe with Moroder-esque synth oscillations and flaming guitar breaks from Tears For Fears’ own Neil Taylor. Elsewhere, “Skylights” takes a distinctly more introspective tack; a hushed, haunting and multi-harmony piano-ballad with a seventies-hue that finds a songwriter in free-fall between darkness and light, dreams and reality. Its drifting basslines come courtesy from the legendary Craig Adams (The Mission / Sisters of Mercy).

But perhaps the most extraordinary of the three is a powered-up cover of the Thompson Twins’ new wave classic “Doctor! Doctor!”, a song which originally charted at No.3 in the Official UK Singles Chart upon its release in 1984. Offering a revamped revision nearly 40 years later, Le Cygne Noir invites two Goth Rock trailblazers, Ashton Nyte of cult South African band The Awakening, and Julianne Regan lead-singer of the critically acclaimed UK goth scene staples All About Eve, to perform in a beguiling duet. Adding to the cast of greats behind the cover, its formidable musicianship comes courtesy of Michele Stodart (The Magic Numbers) on bass and Cal Campbell (Beck) on drums, with its searing guitar licks added by Tom White

Recorded at BR Studios UK, all tracks were produced, arranged and written Le Cygne Noir (with the exception of “Doctor Doctor”), with additional mastering by James Bacon @ Piano Recordings. 
Enrapturing listeners with songs of an epic scale and bombast, Le Cygne Noir’s music has been praised by CLASSIC POP as a “preposterously entertaining”, whereas LOUDER THAN WAR have championed his work as “synth laden rock opera that leans between Muse and War of The Worlds”.

With a palette that covers the cerebral to the cinematic, the bombastic to the brilliant, Le Cygne Noir returns in 2022 with three new songs that cover the full spectrum of his abilities. “Andrew”, “Skylight”, and “Doctor! Doctor!” are out now.

Purchase “Amdrew” here: http://hyperurl.co/ccep6c

Purchase “Skylights” here: http://hyperurl.co/kw71mw

Purchase “Doctor! Doctor!” here: http://hyperurl.co/23g148

Le Cygne Noir |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply