[News] Retreat From Moscow unveil the official video for “The One You Left Behind”

Gravity Dream Records published the new single “The One You Left Behind” from the forthcoming album “The World As We Knew It” by UK Progressive Rockers Retreat From Moscow. Watch the official video through the YouTube player below:

Originally based in Cardiff Retreat From Moscow are a Melodic Rock band who gigged extensively between November 1979 and August 1981. Core members of the band Andrew RaymondGreg HaverTony Lewis and John Harris reformed in 2018 to start recording old and new material for this album. Alcohol and curry may have been involved in making this decision! Yet when they got together for the initial rehearsals at Rockfield studios, the band were surprised how tight they could still play as a unit and how easily everyone remembered the old songs.
Successful drummer and record producer Greg organised the sessions with long-term collaborator Clint Murphy at Modern World Studios in the Cotswolds and the tracks were finally sent to be mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound in Nashville, USA towards the end of the 2019. Clint’s influence and skill in the making of this album earned him a well-deserved co-production credit.
All of the band members have been involved in making music since the early incarnation of RFMGreg has been by far the most successful, and is best known for his work with the Manic Street Preachers and Melanie CGreg has also worked with Tom JonesCatatoniaCory Hart and many other artists Worldwide. With Manic Street Preachers, he was involved in production for numerous gold and platinum accredited albums. This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours, Send Away the Tigers and Know Your Enemy albums received gold accreditations in the UK. He currently resides in New Zealand where he has recently been arranging producer masterclasses, gigging, recording and producing.
John continued to work in the music industry as a sound engineer, tutor, journalist, and musical equipment demonstrator. He worked with many leading industry artists over this period including EMFChesney HawkesJean-Jaques Burnell and David Arnold. Among those he interviewed as a journalist are Peter Bardens (then playing for Van Morrison), Alan Murphy (guitarist for Kate Bush, Go West and many others), Warren Cuccurullo (Frank Zappa, Missing Persons and at that time playing for Duran Duran), Mitch Easter (producer of the first 2 REM albums), John Leckie (producer of the Stone Roses and Radiohead)- and the band Marillion.
Since the demise of the band in the early eighties Andrew re-invented himself as a keyboard player and successful businessman. Yet he still loves guitars and collects vintage and rare models and equipment – some of which are featured on this Retreat From Moscow album. He is well known in the industry as the owner of the ‘Minnesota Burst’ Les Paul and his knowledge of equipment is excellent. Andrew frequently collaborates with guitar manufacturers, pick up developers and journalists who specialise in this area of the music industry.
Tony has played bass for many bands in the Bristol area including The Big Outdoor Type’ in the early 80’s with Neil Davidge (who went on the produce Massive Attack), ‘The Kogi Tribe’ in the 90’s with Ian Matthews (now of Kasabian) on drums. In addition to RFM he continues to play with the Bristol-based Jazz/Funk band Hip Pocket and enjoys playing the music of Prog-Rockers Camel with Skylines. A band which also features guitarist John harris and drummer Scott Hunter(ex Jethro Tull, Book of Genesis).
It is somewhat ironic that after releasing their first single in 1980 Retreat From Moscow have waited forty years to produce an album only to have the proposed launch postponed by a Worldwide pandemic. Yet from those early, heady days at school listening to bands like Genesis, Tull, King Crimson, Camel and Caravan, even though the journey has been a long one, it has been worth the wait.

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://retreatfrommoscow.bandcamp.com/album/the-world-as-we-knew-it


1. The One You Left Behind
2. Radiation
3. Henrietta
4. I’m Alive
5. Constantinople
6. Home
7. Armed Combat
8. Moving Down
9. Perception
10. Mandragora
11. Don’t Look Back


Andrew Raymond / Keyboards, Guitars, Backing Vocals
John Harris / Vocals, Guitars, Flute, Keyboards
Greg Haver / Drums, Percussion, Synth, Backing Vocals
Tony Lewis / Bass, Bass pedals, Backing Vocals

Retreat From Moscow |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|

Gravity Dream |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *