[News] Shamanic Dark Folk duo Nytt Land releases new haunting single and video “Svartravn”

With their new album “Ritual” being unveiled to the world this Friday, August 6, 2021 via Napalm RecordsNytt Land offer another glimpse into their haunting and unique world of Shamanic Dark Folk! Just as Nytt Land begins “Svartravn” with mysterious whispers, the listener is pulled into the melancholic atmosphere of the song – a true display of Nytt Land ’s Shamanic Dark Folk. Experimental vocal technique meets deep, stomping percussive instrumentation inspired by ancient Siberian and Northern European culture. Nytt Land  are a truly unique duo and have rightfully earned millions of cross-platform streams with their authentic, traditional take on Folk music.

Watch the intricately animated music video for “Svartravn” through the YouTube player below:

Nytt Land about the video for Svartravn”: “’Svartravn’ for us is one of the most melodic and most dramatic songs in the new album. A lot of emotions are associated with it in the process of composing and recording.  And undoubtedly, this energy is very accurately visualized in the video created for this song.  In Russia there is a very famous 19th century kozak’s ballad, called ‘Black Raven’. And when we found the text that formed the basis of the song ‘Svartravn’, we were simply amazed that it says the same thing as in this Russian ballad. Therefore, this song got its name exactly ‘Svartravn’ – from the Icelandic language it is precisely ‘Black Raven’ that is translated.”

Nytt Land adds about the animation in the “Svartravn” music video: “The work on the video for the song opened up the opportunity for us to work with the talents of the Siberian artist Ksenia Shcherbinina (Instagram: @kseniash_art) and the animation designer Alexander Golovko. A truly colossal work has been done, each frame of the clip is drawn by hand to bring to life the epic northern legend of betrayal and revenge, valor and fearlessness in the face of death. And of course, we all look forward to continuing our cooperation. And maybe soon we will meet again with the heroes created by Ksenia and Alexander to find out the continuation of this story, which was born in the work on the song ‘Svartravn’.”

Ritual is a previously uncharted display of intense, dark folk music inspired by Nytt Land’s unique, authentic and ancient Siberian culture. If bands like WardrunaHeilung or Runahild ensnare your senses, then you must prepare for this Ritual!In celebration of the release of Ritual, Nytt Land will perform their new album live on August 13 at 8:00PM CET/2:00PM EDT via the Napalm Records YouTube channel – make sure to join the Ritual and experience this one of a kind musical performance!

Join NYTT LAND’s Exclusive Ritual Live Stream Concert on August 13 @ 8:00 PM CET/2:00 PM EDT via the Napalm Records YouTube Channel below:

Nytt Land’s ancient shamanic culture is palpable on songs like “U-Gra” – based on the legend of the Siberian native tribe known as Khanty. It tells the story of the guardian spirits of the tribe’s homeland as somber ritual chants at the start of the song ask the spirits to be kind to their people and help them retain their lands. An atmospheric, meditative journey accompanied by an enthralling percussive section accents the unmatched, unique throat singing layers of Nytt Land vocalists Natasha “Baba Yaga” Pakhalenko and Anatoly “Shaman” Pakhalenko. “Svartravn” seamlessly continues this vibe while introducing melancholic string sections, telling the story of a warrior dying on the battlefield with a crow circling him, awaiting his coup de grace. The dying warrior tells the crow about his worthy life and the deeds that he performed, and that he is not afraid of death, asking the raven to take the news of his death to his family. Underlying themes on “Ritual” become apparent in Nytt Land’s artistic entity, pulled together by mysterious, haunting visuals while still welcoming the listener into their spiritual world. Songs like “Dead Man’s Dance” and “Blood Of The North” showcase the Nordic folk-driven roots of Nytt Land, while the duo takes the genre to new levels on “The Fires of Ragnarok”.

Nytt Land on the record: “Our new album is a big story, a long way – from the harsh, snowy fjords of ancient Scandinavia – to the endless expanses of the great Siberian taiga. Having chosen life in a small Siberian village, we are inspired by nature, its eternal, primordial life force. And this inspiration finds expression in our music.”

Ritual” Tracklisting:

  1. Ritual
  2. The Fires of Ragnarok
  3. The Birth of a Shaman
  4. Dead Man’s Dance
  5. U-Gra
  6. Gróttasöngr
  7. Svartravn
  8. Blood of the North

Ritual will be available in the following formats:
– Die Hard Edition (incl. 1-LP Gatefold Marbled Orange Transparent Black + Poster) – exclusively via Napalm Records, ltd. to 300 copies worldwide
– 1- LP Gatefold BLACK
– Digipak
– Digital Album

Pre-Order the album through the Napalm Records official website: https://napalmrecords.com/nytt-land

Nytt Land |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Napalm Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply