[News] Slomatics published the official full stream for their new album “Strontium Fields”

Belfast, UK based Heavy Space Rock/Doom trio Slomatics has just released their seventh full-length album “Strontium Fields” this Friday, September 8th, 2023 via Black Bow Records. Stream the whole album through the YouTube player below:

There strides the behemoth. Across nearly 20 years, Slomatics have developed a singularly identifiable style in the Heavy underground. Working since 2004 from their home in Belfast, Northern Ireland, they have crafted seven-going-on-eight full-lengths and countless splits with outfits like Agents Of The Morai, Conan, Holly Hunt, Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard, Yanomamö and many others, fostering a sound that soars at least as much as it crushes. Slomatics’ new full-length offering “Strontium Fields” is released on September 8th, 2023.

Strontium Fields is, for us, a post pandemic reflection – full of the joy of life, filtered through a wall of amps, fuzz boxes and ancient synthesisers. We’ve kept busy releasing music through the lockdowns but are especially excited to release a full length album again, one on which we hope we have captured and developed every area of our sound. This album feels like both a consolidation and a leap forward, with more melody, experimentation and riffs than ever before.” – David

A science-fiction backdrop casts a duly futuristic theme around which their material is based, and as they offer lumbering tones and massive, willful slogs of doomed riffs, they complement that grooving clarion with a sense of space that is all their own. From 2012-2016, drummer/vocalist/lyricist Marty Harvey and founding guitarists David Majury and Chris Couzens grew ever more expansive across a trilogy of albums telling a single story, and while 2019’s “Canyons” and their sundry joint outings moved past that narrative, they did not forget the lessons learned in creating a sense of the epic to match the hugeness of their sound.

As they move toward their eighth album after a widely-lauded (and loud) split LP with Domkraft, “Ascend/Descend,” in 2022, they arrive as respected veterans of a global scene, consistent most of all in their evolution on a winding but sure path, building new worlds even as they destroy old ones. Unrepentantly, gloriously Heavy, their live sound – the festivals read like a wishlist: Roadburn, Desertfest, Freak Valley, Psycho Las Vegas, etc. – is a physical presence in the room, genuinely consuming. And as they look ever forward in songwriting and performance, with an increasing scope and breadth bordering on the psychedelic, they are all the more unto themselves. The slow march to oblivion, put to tape.

Pre-Order vinyl // Pre-Order CD

01. Wooden Satellites
02. I, Neanderthal
03. Time Capture
04. Like A Kind Of Minotaur
05. Voidians
06. Zodiac Arts Lab
07. ARCS
08. With Dark Futures

/ Drums and Vocals
David / Guitar
Chris / Guitar

Slomatics |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|

Black Bow Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *