[News] Steve Hackett releases new single “Under the Eye of the Sun” from upcoming “Selling England By The Pound & Spectral Mornings: Live at Hammersmith”

Steve Hackett recently announced a new live set for “Selling England By The Pound & Spectral Mornings: Live At Hammersmith” due out on September 25th, 2020. This live recording is from his critically acclaimed 2019 UK tour. The concert was recorded at the Hammersmith Eventim Apollo, the final night of the tour. Steve Hackett was joined by his touring band of Roger King (keyboards), Jonas Reingold (bass), Rob Townsend (saxes/flutes), Craig Blundell (drums and percussion) with Nad Sylvan on vocals. Special guests for this performance were Steve’s brother John Hackett (flute) and Amanda Lehmann (guitar and vocals).

Now, you can have another impression of this stunning set by watching the video for “Under the Eye of the Sun,” which was originally released on Steve’s latest solo album “At The Edge Of Light“:

This was a very special tour for Steve Hackett as it brought together his favourite album from his time as guitarist with GenesisSelling England By The Pound,” which Steve and his band performed live in its entirety for the first time. The show also featured selected tracks from Steve’s personal favourite album from his extensive solo career Spectral Mornings, together with tracks from his acclaimed 2019 release “At The Edge Of Light.”

Steve comments: “Amalgamating three personal favourite albums, including the whole of Selling England by the Pound, most of Spectral Mornings and At The Edge Of Light highlights was a very special live experience. Both audio and visual on this product give a mind blowing experience of an unforgettable evening at Hammersmith.

The first set of the concert includes tracks from “Spectral Mornings,” celebrating its 40th anniversary, and “At The Edge Of Light.” Steve and the band were joined by Amanda Lehmann on vocals and guitar and by John Hackett, on flute for “The Virgin And The Gypsy” and “The Red Flower Of Tai Chi Blooms Everywhere.”

The second part is the live recording of “Selling England by the Pound” album in its entirety, plus “Déja Vu,” a track initiated for the album by Peter Gabriel, but later completed by Steve.
The recording concludes with the concert encores of “Dance On A Volcano” and “Los Endos.”
The “Selling England By The Pound Plus Spectral Mornings Tour” played twenty dates across the UK in November 2019 to great critical acclaim.

Track listing for
Selling England By The Pound & Spectral Mornings: Live At Hammersmith“:

1. Intro
2. Every Day
3. Under The Eye of The Sun
4. Fallen Walls And Pedestals
5. Beasts Of Our Time
6. The Virgin And The Gypsy
7. Tigermoth
8. Spectral Mornings
9. The Red Flower Of Tai Chi Blooms Everywhere
10. Clocks – Angel of Mons
11. Dancing With The Moonlit Knight
12. I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)

1. Firth Of Fifth
2. More Fool Me
3. The Battle Of Epping Forest
4. After The Ordeal
5. The Cinema Show
6. Aisle of Plenty
7. Deja Vu
8. Dance On A Volcano
9. Los Endos

DVD Package

Concert (2 hours)

Blu-Ray Package

Concert (2 hours)
Documentary (30 mins)

Pre-order here: https://stevehackett.lnk.to/SellingEnglandSpectralMorningsLiveID

Steve Hackett |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply