[News] Suns Of The Tundra unveil the official lyric video for the title-track from new album “The Only Equation”

London, UK based Progressive/Psychedelic Rockers Suns Of The Tundra are gearing up to release their fifth full-length album “The Only Equation” on June 16, 2023. The band shared the official lyric video for the title-track, watch it through the YouTube player below:

The band formerly known as Peach U.K., Suns Of The Tundra includes original Peach members Simon Oakes (vocals, guitar), Rob Havis (bass) and Andy Prestidge (Warning, Angel Witch, Lucifer, Osiris Club, Morlock) on drums, Andy Marlow (bass), Mark Moloney (guitar) and Al Murray guesting on drums.

The Only Equation” is the fifth album of the two-decade career of Suns Of The Tundra (SOTT), released exactly 30 years since the founding members of the band cut their first disc together as Peach. After that project was put on hold when bassist Justin Chancellor was head-hunted to fill the vacant role in Tool, SOTT were formed with the intention of pursuing the same path of Progressive Metal, Dreamy Psychedelia and emotionally-resonant songform.

The album’s 60-minute run-time encompasses 7 tracks, including the three-part, 15-minute epic “Reach For The Inbetween.” This is the band’s longest, loudest and most intense recording to date, a heady brew that takes the listener on a journey whose end is only the beginning. An exploration of the strange, unknowable hinterland between the head and the heart “The Only Equation” continues the cinematic direction taken with 2014’s “Bones Of Brave Ships” album. That release, a soundtrack to South, the filmic account of Ernest Shackleton’s 1914 expedition to Antarctica, was performed live to projections at venues such as London’s South Bank. With The Only Equation,” however, the movie exists exclusively inside the listener’s head. A refinement of the style developed on the follow-up to “Bones Of Brave Ships,” 2019’s “Murmuration,” this record serves as an even more incisive expression of the band’s unique approach.

In an anniversary-inspired spirit of celebration the album features an extended line-up of present and past members of the band, including two bass players and two drummers. SOTT members have variously played in acts such as 40 Watt Sun, Warning and Jadis – and, for those who prefer a more familiar name, TV presenter and comedian Al Murray has re-joined the SOTT collective on drums, having previously performed with mainman Simon Oakes throughout the 1990s. On the technical side, the album has been mixed by Chris Fullard, whose engineering and production credits include Idles and Metallica.

Over the two decades of their existence SOTT have carefully curated a distinctively Progressive sound for their loyal audience. Though they very rarely play live, the band release new material every 3-4 years, in the belief that quality triumphs over quantity every time. “The Only Equation” is the latest, but not last, addition to the pantheon.

Pre-order “The Only Equation” on Bandcamp: sunsofthetundra.bandcamp.com/album/the-only-equation

01. Snakes And Laders
02. Anorak
03. The Only Equation
04. The Rot
05. Run Boy Run
06. Reach For The Inbetween Part I
07. Reach For The Inbetween Part II
08. Reach For The Inbetween Part III
09. The Window Is Wide

Suns Of The Tundra |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *