[News] The Grand Sbam publish new single and video “La Trace”

The Grand Sbam embarks with “Furvent” on a new journey in octet, to meet the wind and the natural elements, inspired by A. Damasio‘s novel: The horde of the counterwind and by the symbolism of the Yi King (I Ching).

Carved in the continuous flow of sound, the music of the ensemble is a de-fluence, a circumvention, an inflection of air and time. An impetuous flow of sound defying musical boundaries. Nowhere between rock, contemporary music, ancient music, jazz, electroacoustics, it draws sharp lines and curves on the back of our disintegrating present. It plunges the listener into a familiar universe with an unpredictable future, caresses him like a soft zephyr and propels him straight into the eye of a cyclone.

Watch the official video of the single “La Trace” in the YouTube player below:

Powerful and delicate, virtuoso and sensitive, Furvent‘s music, composed for four hands by Guilhem Meier and Antoine Arnera, is nourished by contrast, developing a furious madness charged with symbols and poetry. It explores the multiple and hybrid possibilities of a singular instrumental ensemble with generous tones, mixing electric and acoustic sounds.

Singing is omnipresent, oscillating between solos, duets, choirs, in polyphonies, monodies and counterpoints, made up of onomatopoeia, invented words and French sometimes distorted or compressed in order to shift the meaning in the sounds and to infuse the speech with strange and musical colors, of the type “soufli blastou sifloventéoval rafali tonutriyè tiotiènio éolié laliéné “, or “chu yu yu you yo ya wa ya kin, dwendet dwen det”. This broad use of the voice is wrapped in an avalanche of acoustic and electric sounds, with the presence of very popular instruments in Progressive music such as the Mellotron, ancestor of the sampler, or the Cymbalum, ancestor of the piano. Synthesized, Bass, Piano, Rhodes, Semi-electric Drums, Marimba and percussions collide and implode, generating a cosmic Blast, which is also called Grand Sbam.


1. La trace 
2. Nephèsh
3. Yi Yin I Tchen (Le tonnerre)
4. Yi Yin I Souen (Le vent)
5. Yi Yin I Li (Le feu)
6. Yi Yin I K’ouen (La terre)
7. Yi Yin I Touei (Le lac)
8. Yi Yin I K’ien (Le ciel)
9. Yi Yin I Kan (L’eau)
10. Yi Yin I Ken (La montagne)
11. Choon Choon

The Grand Sbam |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Dur Et Doux |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply