[News] The Magpie debut album launches the new Heavy Rock, Psychedelia and Experimental label Firelight Records

Erik Sugg (ex- Demon Eye, Lightning Born) is thrilled to announce Firelight Recordings. This new label brought to you from North Carolina, USA explores Heavy Rock, Psychedelia, Dark Folk, Experimental and other sonic offerings of the ambient underground is just now ramping up. If those genre terms are relevant to you, Firelight Recordings is your next destination for new and upcoming great, original Heavy music. Please, read on!

Our Firelight Recordings journey begins with Sugg’s latest project, “The Magpie,” dropping on Friday, September 08, 2023. The band’s Mike Dean-produced, self-titled album blends elements of Heavy Metal, Post-Hardcore, Noise, and Vintage Psychedelia in ten electrifying tracks. The band has Erik joining up with iconic Punk artist, Brian Walsby (Snake Nation, Double Negative) and Mike Deloatch (Crystal Spiders). Get a taste by checking out The Magpie lyric video for “Juice Glass” now. You can also listen to the full glory of the album on The Magpie Bandcamp and purchase a download, order a CD, or better yet a vinyl pre-order with an instant complimentary download. Vinyl copies are expected in early December and are limited to 100 copies. If you dig what you hear, please follow The Magpie and Firelight Recordings on social media, and stay tuned for all of their unforgettable musical developments.

Watch the official lyric video for the track “Juice Glass” through the youTube player below:

Produced and Engineered by Mike Dean (Corrosion of Conformity) and Mastered by Pete Weiss at Jade Crow Music. Album Art courtesy of Kristen Walsby.

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://themagpie.bandcamp.com/album/the-magpie


01. You are a Parasite 02:21
02. Ceremony for a Fat Lip 02:21
03. Juice Glass 02:55
04. Just One Drop 03:03
05. Derailed 01:42
06. Fix It 02:44
07. The Lurker 02:30
08. The Sleepy Eye 03:50
09. Freaking Out 01:51
10. Flesh Wound 05:04

Erik Sugg
/ Guitar and Vocals
Brian Walsby / Drums and Percussion
Mike Deloatch / Bass and Vocals

The Magpie |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|

Firelight Records |Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *