[News] The Pentangle sign four album deal with Renaissance Records

The British Folk-Jazz band The Pentangle has signed a four-album deal with music label Renaissance Records. Renaissance Records will be re-issuing albums “The Pentangle,” “Basket Of Light,” “Cruel Sister” and “Pentangling” onto deluxe package heavyweight vinyl. This will be the first time these albums have been issued onto vinyl in the United States since their initial releases in the late 1960’s to early 1970’s.

This Folk Rock supergroup started out in 1967 under the original line-up of Jacqui McShee (vocals), John Renbourn (vocals and guitar), Bert Jansch (vocals and guitar), Danny Thompson (double bass), and Terry Cox (drums). Their sound is an eclectic mix of Folk, Jazz, Blues, and Folk Rock influences that gives them their one of a kind sound. Their debut album “The Pentangle” is known for creating an innovative approach to recording acoustic guitars to deliver a very bright “bell like” sound.

The Pentangle’s third full length studio album “Basket of Light” was released in 1969 and received commercial success. The song, ‘Light Flight’ became a popular hit single after it was placed as the theme song for the television series, Take Three Girls. The album placed at #5 on the charts and would be the peak of The Pentangle’s long career.

Renaissance Records will start with the release of their debut album “The Pentangle,” “Basket of Light” and “Cruel Sister” onto deluxe 180g gram vinyl in late August of 2021. The remaining greatest hits album, “Pentangling” will be released in September of 2021. These albums will include extra incentives such as trading cards of the original band members, lyric sheets, lost photos, and more when you purchase them exclusively with Renaissance Records.

The Pentangle, Basket of Light, Cruel Sister, and Pentangling are available now for pre-order from renaissancerecordsus.com

The Pentangle’ Tracklist

  1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  2. Bells
  3. Hear My Call
  4. Pentangling
  5. Mirage
  6. Way Behind The Sun
  7. Bruton Town
  8. Waltz

Basket of Light’ Tracklist

  1. Light Flight (Theme from ‘Take Three Girls’)
  2. Once I Had A Sweetheart
  3. Springtime Promises
  4. Lyke-Wake Dirge
  5. Train Song
  6. Hunting Song
  7. Sally Go Round The Roses
  8. The Cuckoo
  9. House Carpenter

Cruel Sister’ Tracklist

  1. A Maid That’s Deep In Love
  2. When I Was In My Prime
  3. Lord Franklin
  4. Cruel Sister
  5. Jack Orion

Pentangling’ Tracklist

  1. I’ve Got A Feeling
  2. Helping Hand
  3. Pentangling
  4. When I Get Home
  5. Rain And Snow
  6. Lyke Wake Dirge
  7. The Trees They Do Grow
  8. A Maid That’s In Love
  9. Once I Had A Sweetheart

Pentangle |Facebook Page|Twitter|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Renaissance Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *