[News] Therein release the lyric video for the single “Through The Threshold” from new album

Following a successful run at Woodford Folk Festival 2018/2019, Progfest 2019, and a debut tour to Japan, 2020 saw the release of Therein’s second full-length album “Aramitama.” “Aramitama” showcases material from the very beginning of Therein‘s lifetime (2012), all the way through to songs written after the release of their first album “Nobelium.” Combined with the first album “Aramitama” marks the recorded release of every original song in Therein’s live repertoire between the years of 2012-2019. The album artwork is from a painting by Japanese artist Fuyou Nagashima entitled Four Souls. This piece was painted live during a set at Tokyo Beyond festival – the last show of the Japanese tour. The album was self-released in October 31, 2020. The band have released a lyric video for the single ““Through The Threshold” taken from the album, watch it below:

Talking about the video now released, singer Cameron states: “‘Through The Threshold’ is about the moment between dreaming and waking up, that strange moment where you are simultaneously aware of reality and whatever it is you are dreaming about. I like to try and hold onto that moment as much as I can, and this song is musing on that. The film clip was animated by me using traditional animation techniques (as will the next two film clips). This song is probably the closest thing we have to a “modern prog metal” sounding song.”

The painting, titled Four Souls by Nagashima, also holds the inspiration for the name of the album “Aramitama” which loosely translates to ‘rude soul’ and is part of the ‘Mitama’ or four souls.

Cameron Whelan / Guitar, Vocals
Ryan Boyd / Guitar
Ned Gulliford / Drums, Vocals
Charlie Limpus / Bass

Brisbane Progressive Metallers Therein throws all convention out of the window, brazenly infusing Celtic undertones with Jazz, Blues, Death Metal, and 70s Progressive Rock to create a uniquely infectious sound that is undeniably their own. No restrictions, no expectations, and no inhibitions provide the nucleus of Therein‘s eclectic sound, blending and twisting genres into a malleable force that knows no boundaries.


  1. To Better Times 02:35
  2. Abeyance 09:07
  3. Furry Lil’ Demons 05:35
  4. The Crawling Chaos 07:31
  5. Spock 03:10
  6. Through The Threshold 06:28
  7. Divide 05:08
  8. Sláinte 04:54
  9. Brunhilde 03:58
  10. ALH84001 04:43
  11. Wrong Dunn Blues 05:07
  12. Piece of Shit 03:15

Purchase the album through Bandcamp: https://thereinmusic.bandcamp.com/album/aramitama

Therein |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply