[News] Tim Bowness unveil the lyric video for “Always The Stranger” taken from “Butterfly Mind”

Coming 40 years after he first started performing in bands in his native North West of England, Tim Bowness returns in 2022 with his seventh solo album “Butterfly Mind,” due for release on the 17th June 2022. Produced in conjunction with long-time collaborator Brian Hulse, and mixed & mastered by Steven Wilson, this new album is his most surprising release yet.

Watch the video for the albums first single “Always The Stranger,” created by Crystal Spotlight through the YouTube player below:

Butterfly Mind” will be available as a Limited 2CD Edition (incl. alternative mixes and outtakes), as well as a Limited Edition 180g LP+CD featuring a striking die-cut artwork by Carl Glover. Burning Shed have an exclusive green vinyl edition, and you can pre-order now here: https://timbowness.lnk.to/ButterflyMind

This track features the brilliant rhythm section of Richard Jupp (in his first major session since leaving Elbow) & Nick Beggs, as well as featuring haunting backing vocals from Martha Goddard of The Hushtones.

Tim comments: “The title of the song derives from the name of my first ever 1980s solo project. Despite being pretty experimental – I was a very intense teenager! – and only existing on home-produced demo cassettes, ATS got a lot of very welcome support from local media (BBC GMR, Piccadilly Radio, Manchester Evening News and Warrington Guardian, in particular). In some ways, the lyric is something of a ‘what might have been’ or even ‘what may be’ scenario. It’s about what can happen when you don’t embrace change or challenge and creative restlessness gives way to cynical stasis.

To celebrate the release of the new album, Tim will play some select UK live dates, including an instore + Q&A at Rough Trade East in London.
10.06.2022 – Prohibition, Liverpool, UK
11.06.2022 – The Musical Museum, Brentford, London, UK
18.06.2022 – Rough Trade East, London, UK

Tim’s seventh solo album – his sixth for InsideOut Music/Sony – features the rhythm section of Richard Jupp (ex-Elbow) and Nick Beggs alongside a spectacular guest list including Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Dave Formula (Magazine), Peter Hammill (Van Der Graaf Generator), Martha Goddard (The Hushtones), Gregory Spawton (Big Big Train), Mark Tranmer (The Montgolfier Brothers / GNAC), Saro Cosentino (Franco Battiato), Italian Jazz musician Nicola Alesini, US singer Devon Dunaway (Ganga), Stephen W Tayler (Kate Bush) and, marking his first studio work with Tim for nearly three decades, former No-Man violinist Ben Coleman.



  1. Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 1 00:02:22
  2. Always The Stranger 00:02:50
  3. It’s Easier To Love 00:05:13
  4. We Feel 00:04:53
  5. Lost Player 00:03:13
  6. Only A Fool 00:04:33
  7. After The Stranger 00:01:15
  8. Glitter Fades 00:04:50
  9. About The Light That Hits The Forest Floor 00:03:49
  10. Dark Nevada Dream 00:08:26
  11. Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 2 00:01:59


  1. Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 1 Alt 00:02:23
  2. Always The Stranger Alt 00:02:48
  3. It’s Easier To Love Alt 00:05:10
  4. We Feel Alt 00:05:02
  5. Lost Player Alt 00:03:16
  6. Only A Fool Alt 00:04:36
  7. After The Stranger Alt / Extended Version 00:02:06
  8. Glitter Fades Alt 00:04:53
  9. About The Light That Hits The Forest Floor Alt 00:03:48
  10. Dark Nevada Dream Alt 00:08:26
  11. Say Your Goodbyes, Pt. 2 Alt 00:01:52
  12. Clearing Houses 00:03:34
  13. Always The Stranger Raw 00:02:45
  14. Lost Player Primitive 00:02:48

Tim Bowness |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|YouTube Channel|

InsideOut Music |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply