[News] Univers Zero to release new album “Lueur” on November and launch pre-orders

Belgian legendary RIO/Avant-Prog band Univers Zero to release new album “Lueur” on November 03, 2023 via Sub Rosa Records and launch pre-orders.

Univers Zero‘s new album (since 10 years) follows the lineage of “Phosphorescent Dreams,” originally released only on CD in Japan in 2014, and reissued as an LP on the Sub Rosa label in 2019. “Lueur” is the fruit of two years’ work and reflection, the foundations of which were laid by Daniel Denis (keyboards, drums, percussion
), then enriched by the contributions of Nicolas DechĂȘne (guitars), Kurt BudĂ© (clarinet / bass clarinet) and Nicolas Denis (bass, percussion, vocals), all three present on “Phosphorescent Dreams.”

With this reduced lineup, “Lueur” offers a dense journey, rooted in the balance between power and calm, raging and serene sound. A balance, too, between complex arrangements and more contemplative moments. While this album continues the Avant-Rock tradition of Univers Zero, it also features some very short pieces, more Electronic, Tribal and haunting sounds, and voice work that is new to the U.Z. universe. Between tradition and subtle evolution, “Lueur” is a major new contribution to the discography of this band, which will be celebrating its fiftieth anniversary in 2024.

Univers Zero represents one of the longest-living bands in Belgium. It was established in 1974. Drummer Daniel Denis had the brilliant idea to gather together a team of professionals sharing the same taste for music. The band has adopted an instrumental Progressive style. Over the last couple of decades, the band has also implemented a series of influences from chamber music – most commonly, chamber music from the 20th century. Even if the line-up changes a lot over the years, the overall sound of UZ remained fairly consistent.

Pre-Order the album on Bandcamp: https://subrosalabel.bandcamp.com/album/lueur


  1. Migration vers le bas
  2. Sfumato (part 1)
  3. Cloportes
  4. Rolling Eyes
  5. Axe 117
  6. Sfumato (part 2)
  7. Wavering
  8. La tĂȘte Ă  l’envers
  9. Mister Chung
  10. Dartafalk
  11. Coda


Daniel Denis / Keyboards, Drums, Percussion
Nicolas DechĂȘne / Guitars
Kurt Budé / Clarinet and Bass Clarinet
Nicolas Denis / Bass, Percussion, Vocals

Univers Zero |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Spotify|

Sub Rosa |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *