[News] Voivod launches new lyric video for “Paranormalium” off new album “Synchro Aanarchy”

Canadian Progressive Sci-Fi Metal innovators Voivod continue the promotional campaign for their upcoming studio album “Synchro Anarchy,” out worldwide on February 11, 2022 via Century Media Records. The band have released their second single and opening track “Paranormalium.” Watch the lyric video created by Cloud Music Typography through the YouTube player below:

Voivod guitarist Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain states: ““Paranormalium” opens with the very last guitar melody you hear on The Wake’s last song “Sonic Mycelium”, in the fade out of the string quartet. We wanted both entities or dimensions to connect through music as 2 parallel worlds can connect through distorted space-time, black holes, vibrations, spirituality or anything else.

Paranormalium is the name Denis “Snake” Bélanger came up with while writing the lyrics, trying to gather all of these concepts in one imaginary particle called “Paranormalium”. Depending on your individual perception or any influential inner or external event, makes oneself see or not see, be part of or not be part of, someone else’s reality OR even being stuck between many different dimensions as it is all connected in some ways through Paranormalium.

It’s one of the most complex, twisted and heavy songs on the album with many different landscapes. The melody comes back many times during the song in different forms, as reality can be consisted of the same material taking on different aspects. In the end, are we really living in the reality we think we’re in???

Synchro Anarchy” was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Studio / https://radicart.net/ in Québec, Canada and mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering / http://www.maorappelbaum.com/ in California, U.S.A and produced by Voivod. The album features cover artwork by Voivod’s Michel “Away” Langevin and includes the following track-listing:

  1. Paranormalium
  2. Synchro Anarchy
  3. Planet Eaters
  4. Mind Clock
  5. Sleeves Off
  6. Holographic Thinking
  7. The World Today
  8. Quest For Nothing
  9. Memory Failure


Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain / Guitar
Denis “Snake” Belanger / Vocals
Michel “Away” Langevin / Drums
Dominic “Rocky” Laroche / Bass

Voivod |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|

Century Media Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *