[News] Vvon Dogma I shares drum playthrough video for the track “The Void” taken from new album

Vvon Dogma I is known mainly for its wow factor as an avante-garde progressive metal band with a 9-string bassist helmed by frontman and band founder Chaoth (ex-Unexpect). But today, the band presents its complex, challenging, and at times even unsettling music with a playthrough by drummer Kevin Alexander and his skill to weave each drum hit to the thrilling ride of the track “The Void” that is from the band’s latest album “The Kvlt of Glitch” released this past May. Watch the drum playthrough through the YouTube player below:

Drawing influences from Radiohead, Meshuggah, and Deftones, Vvon Dogmai I has carved out a unique sound that blends complex rhythms and haunting melodies. Ringleader and bassist Chaoth (ex-Unexpect) quotes that the band’s sound is him paying tribute to the wide assortments of influences that he’s had in his life from 90’s alternative and nu-metal to modern electronic and ambient music and everything in between. He continues to explain:

“It’s very freeing in a way to be the main songwriter because you don’t really have to fight for your ideas, whatever goes so, it’s a glimpse of my psyche. Lyrically it’s very much fueled by dark feelings that have been following me my whole life. Very personal yet vague as f*ck. This whole project, these songs, this sound, it’s been living in my head and computer alone for too long but now I’m just happy and proud to finally bring this project to life.”

Currently, Chaoth does most of the writing before drummer Kevin Alexander and Yoan modifies the structure and adds attitude with the drums and guitars and then it goes to the studio where Blaise Borboën adds like a million layers, very synth-heavy. Hours of trial and error lead to the final polished result. Like sculpting, they just play with it until it looks like something.

Vvon Dogma I is an experimental and challenging display of musical prowess and creativity. They are recommended for fans of Deftones, Sleep Token, Meshuggah, Igorrr, and Unprocessed.

“The Kvlt of Glitch” was released on May 5, 2023.

Purchase the album on Bandcamp: https://vvondogmai.bandcamp.com/album/the-kvlt-of-glitch

Music Video – “One Eye” – https://youtu.be/ebEmZojXIgk

Lyric Video – “The Void” – https://youtu.be/G5MTer7TkM

Bass Playthrough – “Day of the Dead” – https://youtu.be/W6YEmsIkHEI

Track Listing:​

  1. The Void – 4:45
  2. Tabula Rasa – 4:25
  3. Triangles and Crosses – 4:33
  4. Day of The Dead – 4:36
  5. One Eye – 4:34
  6. Hivemind – 2:47
  7. Lithium Blue – 4:51
  8. 2 + 2 = 5 – 3:11 (Radiohead Cover)
  9. Hurt – 3:58
  10. The Great Maze – 6:54

Album Recording Credits:​

  • All songs performed by: VVON DOGMA I
  • All songs written by: CHAOTH and VVON DOGMA I (except 2+2=5 written by Radiohead)
  • Produced by: Blaise Borboën-Léonard, Chris Donaldson, Dave Evangelista, Chaoth
  • Mixed by: Max Lacroix at House of Gain studio
  • Mastered by: Max Lacroix at House of Gain studio
  • Album Artwork by: Patrick Filteau and MidJourney
  • Canadian Content (MAPL) (for Canadian

Vvon Dogma I – Album and Live Band Lineup:​
ChaotH (Frederick F) / 9 String bass
Kevin Alexander / Drums
Yoan MP / Guitar
Blaise Borboën / Synth, Strings, Production

Vvon Dogma I |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *