[News] Wolf Prayer published the official video for the track “Oblivion” taken from their upcoming album

October 6, 2023 will see German Stoner Rockers Wolf Prayer release their much-awaited, second studio album “Spell Of The Crimson Eye” via Barhill Records. Following the previously-released, first single “Luna,” the trio has shared a new music video for the haunting track “Oblivion.” Watch the official video through the YouTube player below:

The song is about forgetfulness, more precisely the disease-related forgetfulness of Alzheimer’s dementia, an incurable disorder of the brain,” the band says. “Due to the death of nerve cells in the brain, affected people become increasingly forgetful, confused and disoriented. Familiar, simple activities such as drinking or eating can no longer be carried out. Visual impressions and spatial relationships are no longer understood. There is a change in the mood and personality of the affected persons. They easily become upset when they are outside their familiar environment. If routines or developed rigid processes are interrupted, there is restlessness, anxiety or confusion. Reality changes into a strange illusion that is no longer believed or trusted. Gradually, the long-term memory also suffers, so that loved ones, family members and friends are no longer recognised and are treated or perceived with a distrustful distance. There is hardly anything left of the former beloved personality. Due to the degradation of cognitive abilities, the loss of personality and the degradation of the physical, bodily condition, one can only watch helplessly the decay and the associated dwindling of the life forces of the loved one.

Following their much acclaimed 2019-debut album¬†“Echoes Of The Second Sun,” on¬†Spell Of The Crimson Eye,”¬†Wolf Prayer¬†deal with a wide variety of topics in their seven new songs: the longing for a new love, the loss of personality of a loved one due to oblivion caused by illness, the mindless following and carrying out of socially “respected, correct” teachings and losing oneself in an everyday routine, the eternal game between good and evil, a homage to the moon and space travel, and the inner urge that results in a conscious personality change that one accepts and thereby wrongs loved ones.

Like its predecessor,¬†“Spell Of The Crimson Eye”¬†was mastered by Sidney Claire Meyer at Emil Berliner Studios.¬†Wolf Prayer¬†see¬†“Spell Of The Crimson Eye”¬†as a further refinement of their style, a mixture of atmospheric fuzz/desert/stoner and heavy rock, which had its origins on “Echoes Of The Second Sun.” This time it was important for them to capture the “power, consistency and force” of their live set. Not least due to the long recording phase with producer Christian Hack, the understanding and ear of Christian Schmid, who was able to wonderfully empathise with the sound they were looking for, and the mastering by Sidney Claire Meyer in the internationally renowned Emil Berliner Studios, an optimal, powerful symbiosis of live and studio sound was achieved.

Since the release of their debut,¬†Wolf Prayer¬†have played several small tours with genre-similar bands such as Elara Sun Streak Band, Kosmodrom or Have Blue, and in support of Motorowl and J. Mascis‘ band Witch. Fans of¬†Nebula, All Them Witches, Kyuss and beyond should definitely keep an eye and ear on¬†Wolf Prayer‘s upcoming¬†“Spell Of The Crimson Eye.”¬†The album pre-sale is available¬†here: https://barhillrecords.de/produkt/wolfprayer_eye/


  1. Interludium Nebulae
  2. Desire
  3. Oblivion
  4. Doctrine
  5. Cards Of Evil
  6. Luna
  7. The Devil Told Me So


Jan Sprengard / Vocals, Guitar
Tim Hansen / Bass
Matthias Schorr / Drums

Wolf Prayer |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Barhill Records |Official Website|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *