[News] Zahn published the official video for the track “Apricot” taken from their upcoming new album

Berlin, Germany based Post-modern Noise Rock trio Zahn published the official video for the track “Apricot” taken from their upcoming album, “Adria,” set to release on November 24, 2023 via Crazysane Records. Watch the official video through the YouTube player below:

The video for “Apricot” was directed by N. Hildebrandt, bringing Zahn‘s unique vision to life. The track was recorded by Peter Voigtmann at Die Mühle Studios, Gyhum, and expertly mixed and mastered by Magnus Lindberg at Redmount Studios, Stockholm. Fans of Trans Am, The Jesus Lizard, Metz, The Melvins and Tortoise, tune in.

Zahn comments: “Being in a band often entails profuse sweating, whether it’s under the stage lights, lifting heavy gear, sitting on a sweltering bus without air conditioning or the anxiety-induced perspiration before a performance. For many rockers, being intoxicated is a vital element of a show. With ZAHN, we’re approaching this in a different way – we’re pursuing an altered state of consciousness by pushing ourselves to the limit in a sauna. ‘Apricot’ is a sober yet sensory and psychedelic sauna experience.

Zahn presents “Adria,” an eighty-minute journey into the heart of classic European holiday culture. “Adria” offers a bold escape from your daily life through technicolour transmissions of Post–Rock, Krautrock, Dark Jazz, Noise Rock, Post-Punk, and electronic music. “Adria” is a compelling soundtrack to a 1980’s antiutopian road movie.

Found on stickers on the backs of millions of camper vans crossing Europe each Summer, the word “adria” has become synonymous with the magic of going on holiday for many generations of continental plebeians. It represents a mythical destination with the promise of leisure, but also an arduous road journey and a healthy dose of exhaust fumes. Like watching the sun set over a shabby highway restaurant or eating a melting popsicle next to a dirty campsite pool, “Adria” offers the perfect balance of blandness and heaviness.

Consisting of Chris Breuer (Heads., ex-The Ocean Collective), Nic Stockmann (Heads.) and Felix Gebhard (Muff Potter, Einstürzende Neubauten-live)Zahn stands in the Progressive tradition of musicians from a local scene working together on albums and exploring new grounds regardless of the respective bands they became known for. With a debut album that was recorded in only two days, this trio revealed an insatiable thirst for creation and boundless ambition in rhythm and texture.

With “Adria,” Zahn has chosen the scenic route to create a collection of vivid sonic vistas, juxtaposing their Noise Rock roots with healthy doses of a variety of genres. “Zebra” opens the album like an otherworldly elevator overture faintly echoing the chirping sound of crickets in the warm evening wind, “Faser” stretches out like a highway marrying noisy krautrock textures with remote Math Rock elements. Meanwhile, lead single “Idylle” could easily fit on a soundtrack album to a lost David Lynch motion picture.

Once more, Zahn has curated a group of talented musicians to augment their own multi-instrumental exercises. “Amaranth” with its rolling rhythm features some excellent Doom Rock stylings courtesy of guitarist Markus E. Lipka (Eisenvater), while the Jazzy midsection of “Tabak” is softly propelled by the subtle accordion flourishes of Joanna Gemma Auguri. “Schmuck” features an artful buildup in 5/4 embellished by the tasteful guitar playing of Jobst M. Feit (Radare) and “Idylle” features his bandmate Fabian Bremer (Radare, Aua) on synthesizer.

Returning to the task of making these musicians sound good is Peter Voigtmann (The Ocean Collective, Shrvl), who recorded the album at his Die Mühle Studio in Northern Germany. The huge storage space of the old mill provided an ideal recording site for Zahn’s big drums and huge bass sound while leaving ample room for the intricate atmospheres created by the other instruments. Voigtmann also provided his magic on the uncanny end section of “Yuccatan 3E” and on “Idylle,” perfectly capturing the unheimlich in shades of slow shimmering sequencers and synthesized textures.

Adria” was mixed and mastered by Magnus Lindberg (Russian Circles, Cult Of Luna) at his Stockholm-based studio. The cover artwork, based on photographs by Lupus Lindemann (Kadavar), was designed by Fabian Bremer (Radare, Aua).

Adria” is a testament to the incredible power of this trio and its ability to effortlessly ensnare your attention for the duration of a ten-minute purely instrumental song. Over the course of the album’s eleven tracks Zahn emerges as a form of Pink Floyd of Noise Rock, relentlessly pushing the envelope on what’s already accomplished while remaining tasteful and tasty at every corner.

Pre-Order and Pre-Save Vinyl and Stream here: https://orcd.co/zahn-apricot

Pre-Order “Adria” here: crazysanerecords.com/shop

01. Zebra
02. Zehn
03. Schmuck
04. Apricot
05. Faser
06. Tabak
07. Yuccatan 3E
08. Amaranth
09. Velour
10. Kotomoto
11. Idylle

Chris Breuer
 / Bass, Synthesizer, Drum Machine, Lap Steel Guitar
Felix Gebhard / Guitars, Synthesizer, Bass VI, Electric Piano
Nic Stockmann / Drums, Electronic Drums

Zahn |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|

Crazysane Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *