[News] Alternative Proggy Pop orchestra Meer reveals new single “Beehive” from upcoming album

With Playing House, their second full-length album, set to be released on Karisma Records on the January 29, 2021 Meer have released a new track from the album.

Beehive” is the track they have selected for the new single, because, according to the band, who comments: “Beehive has been a long-time favourite on our live sets, and we love how the album version turned out. It’s sensual, chaotic, powerful and definitely one of our most hard hitting songs. The cinematic strings, heavy guitars and arpeggiated synthesizers create a suggestive drive over which Johanne gets to belt her heart out. We often work together composing as a collective, and for “Beehive” drummer Mats came up with the opening piano riff and then the rest of the band  added new parts, hooks and lyrics to it on several jams and rehearsals. We are thrilled to finally share this powerhouse with you!

Beehive” can be streamed or downloaded here: https://karismarecords.fanlink.to/MEER_Beehive

The new album “Playing House” was Recorded at Ocean Sound Recording and Tanken, with producer Lars Gärtner Fremmerlid (Einar Stray Orchestra) at the helm, and with artwork by Helena Haglund and Simen Skari.

Formed in Hamar, Norway, in 2008, originally as a duo known as Ted Glen Extended, Meer has expanded its lineup to eight (!) members, comprising Johanne Kippersund on vocals, Knut Kippersund on vocals, Eivind Strømstad on guitar, Åsa Ree on violin, Ingvild Nordstoga Eide on viola, Ole Gjøstøl on keyboards, Morten Strypet on bass and Mats Lillehaug on drums.

The additional members  brought with them their own individual styles and musical interests and influences, and it is therefore not surprising that Meer‘s music is as eclectic, and interesting, as it is today.

With such a large lineup, it was inevitable that a variety of styles and influences would find their way into Meer‘s material, creating a sound that is an Eclectic mix of Orchestral Pop, Classical Music and Progressive Rock. It is a massive sound comprised of  fantastic melodies and harmonies, not to mention quite a few surprises along the way.

1. Picking Up The Pieces     
2. Beehive     
3. All At Sea   
4. Songs Of Us   
5. Child   
6. You Were A Drum 
7. Honey   
8. Across The Ocean   

MEER |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

Karisma Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Soundcloud|YouTube Channel|

9. She Goes   
10. Where Do We Go From Here?   
11. Lay it Down 

Playing House” will be available in CD, Digital and 2xLP formats, and is now available to pre-order in Europe here: https://www.karismarecords.no/

in the USA here: https://karismarecords.aisamerch.com/

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *