[News] AMS Records reissue the album “La Crudeltà di Aprile” by Unreal City for the 10th anniversary

Ten years after its release, AMS Records reissues the successful debut album by the formidable Parma-based band. A dazzling debut, produced by Fabio Zuffanti, for all fans of Italian Progressive Rock
Unreal City: “La Crudeltà di Aprile” is back on CD!

The return of one of the most intriguing prog bands of recent years, Unreal City! Ten years on, AMS Records reissues their debut “La Crudeltà di Aprile.” Unreal City is a band from Parma that plays Symphonic Prog Rock with Gothic and Dark influences. Founded in April 2008 on the initiative of keyboardist/singer Emanuele Tarasconi and guitarist Francesca Zanetta, in 2010 they were joined by bassist Francesco Orefice and in 2012 by drummer Federico Bedostri. Thanks to the self-produced EP released in 2012, they came into contact with Fabio Zuffanti (Höstsonaten, La Maschera Di Cera, Finisterre…), who decided to produce their first album “La Crudeltà di Aprile,” released in 2013.

This is an excellent debut, long out of print and ten years after its release finally reissued by AMS Records in the classic papersleeve format, which immediately caught the attention of Italian Progressive Rock fans.
Recorded at Hilary Studio in Genoa under the expert guidance of engineer Rossano “Rox” Villa, “La Crudeltà di Aprile” contains surprisingly mature music at the service of topical lyrics, born in English and later translated into Italian, according to the proposed message: the fil rouge that firmly binds the stories told in this album is the corruption of things and people, change, becoming.

Unreal City make skilful use of real period instruments such as Hammond and liturgical organs, Mellotron, Moog, Clavinet, Rhodes, combined with special effects, reverbs and tape echoes. The rhythm section has the merit of bringing 70s-era music into a more modern and captivating context. A debut that left its mark, the first of three albums that characterise a career that continues to this day.

AMS Records: https://ams-music.it/wp/unreal-city-la-crudelta-di-aprile/

BTF Vinyl Magic: https://btf.it/prodotto/unreal-city-la-crudelta-di-aprile-cd/

Tracklist:  1. Dell’Innocenza Perduta 2. Atlantis (Conferendis Pecuniis) 3. Catabasi (Descensio Ad Inferos) 4. Dove La Luce È Più Intensa 5. Ecate (Walpurgisnacht) 6. Horror Vacui:  a) Le Radici Del Male b) L’Assassino c) Nel Sonno Della Ragione d) Il Baratro Della Follia   Lineup: Emanuele Tarasconi / Lead & Backing Vocals, Piano, Hammond, Synths, Moog, Mellotron, Birotron, Chamberlin, Fender Rhodes, Clavinet, Harpsichord, Church Organ, Theremin
Francesca Zanetta / Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Renaissance Lute
Francesco Orefice / Fretted & Fretless Bass, Lead (2) & Backing Vocals
Federico Bedostri / Drums, Timpani, Percussion, Narration (2)

Fabio Biale / Violin (1,3)

Unreal City |Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Twitter|Instagram|Spotify|YouTube Channel|

AMS Records |Official Website|Bandcamp|Facebook Page|Instagram|YouTube Channel|

Author: Jacopo Vigezzi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *